We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good half day out away from the bustle of the beach.”

Las Fuentes del Algar
Ranked #217 of 1,085 things to do in Valencian Country
Attraction details
Dymchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
122 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“A good half day out away from the bustle of the beach.”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

If you visit benidorm then you must reserbve half a day to see this National park which comprises a series of natural and artifically dammed waterfalls and pools. The cost is modest at about €20 for a family whith the normal concessions for students and pensioners. Expect to do some steep climbing and walking where the groud can be a little uneven but there is a high level wheelchair friendly path giving a panoramic view. There is a car park for about 30 vehicles at the entrance but it will be hobson's choice to find a space in the summer.

You can even dive and swim in a couple of the pools if you want to. There is a special area reserved for picnics, eating is prohibited elswhere and there is a reasonably priced resturant at the entrance. You will be stopped for the obligatory photograph as you make your way in but purchase is not a requirment although the price is reasonable and I always figure it is nice to have a picture of the whole group.

The best time to visit is Spring when all the flowers are out but it makes a welcome break in the hills in the heat of summer and you can relax under the shade of the trees along the river banks.

If you drive watch out for the many car parks who try to lure you in on the approach and charge a couple of euros, in the high season it may be you best bet an they all offer the price back if you buy a meal or drinks in the restaurant attached but it is still a stiff climb on the roadway up to the falls if you stop too low down.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Marshian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    97
    45
    19
    27
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What a Magical place”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Been here twice and I love it! Beautiful clear waterfalls that you can swim up to an into.
Would not recommend for disabled people, far too many steps. But a great place to wear the kids out exploring and swimming. There are several places to dive and jump and genuinely relax to have a great day out

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Alysmaria94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Go out of season”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Judging by the reviews this place seems to polarise people. To some it's tacky and false to others it's good family day out.
At the start I must say that we visited well out of season (March) and so we had the place to ourselves but the ubiquitous photographer was still in position near the entrance to take your photo on the way in - a polite but firm "no, thank you" seemed to do the trick. In fact it was so quiet that there was no one in the entrance kiosk to take our money. But perhaps that's just as well as I did not think that the cost of 4 euros was worth it for the length of time we spent there.
The falls are fairly attractive and are a series of small cascades but I can see why some people think that they are artificial, at least in part.
the valley they are in is attractive and was very peaceful but I could well imagine that they would get very busy in the summer especially when the tourist coaches turn up and disgorge their hordes on the place - it would not take many to give the effect of the attraction being over run.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Gwespyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A complete contrast from Benidorm- well worth a visit”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Mixed reviews on here and probably depends on time of year visited. We took a bus from Benidorm to Callosa, then taxi to the waterfalls.
As out of season, we practically had the area to ourselves and we had a relaxing time strolling around and paddling in the pools and streams.
4 Euros entrance fee per person - money well spent.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank peter h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“What a tacky, horrible place!”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

You have to pay to park the car before you even enter Los Fuentes and have your photo taken. Why would you pay to enter the very false looking waterfalls - we reckoned they pumped the water at this time of year. Avoid!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Fuentes del Algar also viewed

Callosa d'En Sarria, Province of Alicante
Navajas, Province of Castellon
 
Alicante, Costa Blanca
 

Been to Las Fuentes del Algar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing