We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Micheline One Star in Pamplona”
Review of Rodero

Rodero
Ranked #1 of 547 Restaurants in Pamplona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $74
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Chattanooga, TN
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Micheline One Star in Pamplona”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

While we can tell this is probably a great dining experience, I would avoid this place during the San Fermines. The main chef is out of town and it proved to be a bit of a disappointment during the Festival.

Helpful?
2 Thank EspanaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    315
    101
    20
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Matilda, PA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fine Food and Service”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Having eaten at Europa two weeks earlier, we didn't think the food at Rodero could be better---but it was. The dishes we had were a mixture of local and Continental cuisine. The cream sauce on the fish was particularly delightful. The staff was friendly and attentive.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WizofID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Too expensive”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Food does'nt worth it's price, but pretends to be peculiar,however atmosphere was quite frendly

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham UK
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“pale by comparison with the vibrant alternatives”
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Interesting menu, undoubtadely well executed but the restaurant was lacking in atmosphere...but then we were the only table there the night after San Fermin (so maybe unfair!).

The wine list is comprehensive but strangely organised for my limited local wine knowledge.

Good but ultimately it left me feeling unsatisfied and just a little sad for all the effort the kitchen staff put in.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rabbitpearls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Tom Jones?”
Reviewed July 7, 2011

As an American, eating in Spain requires some adjustment due to the relatively late
dining in this wonderful country. Eating at 9PM is the US equivalent of a 5:30 rez, with
all the downsides....the place is still a bit empty, the kitchen is not quite running at max
efficiency, etc.
At Rodero the hostesses are convivial and inviting. But then the attack of the golden moldy oldies hits. The music system is at a volume that jangles the nerves and counters the otherwise lovely dining room environs. To make things even more distracted, the choice of musical genre is pop music of the 70s (rather than relaxing classical or perhaps
jazz). Very inappropriate for a Michelin restaurant of high repute. To make matters
worse, there was some kind of repetitive beeping sound that lasted for well over
30 minutes which unfortunately was not well sync-ed with the loud music. This is
all before we ate a crumb.
We ordered the "Rodero" tasting menu. Be aware that if you want to do the tasting menu
(of which there are three choices) then all members of the table have to order the
same thing. Perhaps this is the norm in this part of the world, but I found it a bit
dictatorial on the part of the chef (but the benefit is that 2 bottles of wine are included
in the price).
Now to the food itself. Excellent tastes and textures. Well thought out and executed.
Very worthy of it's presence in the Red Guide. For the money, the meal was quite excellent. And by 10P, more diners had sat down and they turned the music down to almost a whisper and changed it to something more appropriate.
So what started a bit rough, ended on a high note. Frankly, if I was a Michelin reviewer
their sins of atmosphere might cost them their star, but the food was world class and
most enjoyable. So my advice is eat at Rodero, but perhaps a 10P rez would be best.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Pegscraper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rodero also viewed

Pamplona, Navarra
Pamplona, Navarra
 

Been to Rodero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing