We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disapointment” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurante Europa

Restaurante Europa
Ranked #6 of 525 Restaurants in Pamplona
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary, Mediterranean, European, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“disapointment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Booked table due to Michelin one star rating.The place was noisy and crowded.Three waitresses running around,not really knowing what and when to do. The service is overdone protocol,without a smile or kind word and even with big mistakes (like pouring the wine in a half fulll glass with water( and no excuse made when noticed) We ate two first and two main dishes.One of the first was good the second acceptable.One of the main dishes was good and the second almost uneatable ( left behind most of it,gave my oppinion to the waitress but no response)The dish was filet of red mullet the taste was of a cheap,poorly cooked fishy fish.One star Michelin ??

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank paci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan M I, Gerente at Restaurante Europa, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Sir,

We are very sorry if your impression of our restaurant did not be as good as we would like to be.
Satisfaction of our clients is the most important thing for the staff of the restaurant. For this reason, we take note of our mistakes and we are working to solve them.

Thank you for your opinion in Tripadvisor.

Yours faithfully.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    492
    197
    58
    19
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
241 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Wonderful surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

The Europa was recommended by our hotel and did not disappoint. There were 4 of us and we had the 48 euro menu. It included local wines. Interesting combinations of flavors and textures. Room was noisy and the servers not very gracious.
$10 added to credit cards was taken off after we questioned it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
294 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“regional cuisine with style”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Navarrese cuisine base is local ingredients like lamb, pork, sausages and an extensive group of fine vegetables as well as fine fish from the nearby Bay of Biscay. The Europa restaurant has taken traditional dishes, slightly twisted and presented them with style in a most pleasant way that deserves a well earned Michelin star rating. For instance, the amuse bouche we were presented with was a local white asparagus cream. The roasted piquillo peppers are not just that, they are topped with very thing, crusty, iberico pancetta. Roasted piglet is slow cooked, pressed and thinly crusted. Tasty wild turbot, as opposed to the more common blander cultured types, is seared to perfection and accompanied with garlic potatoes. We were a group of nine and everybody asserted that this is a place to enjoy clean, uncomplicated, flavors. The restaurant atmosphere is an early twenty century decoration in subdued pastel colors. Finding the rest room is akin to an expedition. Nevertheless, if the service were to par with the food it would be perfect. The flow was uneven, the dealing with customers too much neighborhood folksy, and the wine server clumsy. Otherwise, it is a near perfect stop at the center of downtown and next to what many think is the best tapas bar in Pamplona, El Gaucho. Parking is available within a very short distance at the Plaza del Castillo parking.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank martinezcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
123 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Fabulous food & wine, excellent atmosphere & service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

This isn't the #1 rated restaurant in Pamplona for nothing. We had lunch here after a fairly long drive, arrived in our casual travelling/trekking clothes for the Camino and wondered if we might be treated shabbily but we needn't have worried.

The ambience is excellent, crisp starched linen, nice decor, and there were people in suits as well as in sweats. The staff were extremely professional and friendly. We had the tasting menu with wine pairing which was excellent and more than we could stomach. We could not eat dinner that night! Every dish was beautifully presented and very fine tasting. It was definitely one of our most memorable meals in our 3 weeks in Spain, beating some of the Michelin starred restaurants in San Sebastien & Leon.

The staff made the meal so much more enjoyable. We were missing a floral arrangement on our table so I asked one of the waiters (the friendly gentleman with the cute curls) in my broken Spanish why and he answered that I was the flower;) Before we left, the waitress gave me a hug and 2 kisses and wished us all the best on our Camino.

Will I return? Without a doubt! I'm still thinking about that meal...

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrsfootloose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

good breakfast, nice room with all you need - even tea and coffee making facilities (no milk though)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank 13Lin13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Europa also viewed

Pamplona, Navarra
Pamplona, Navarra
 
Pamplona, Navarra
Pamplona, Navarra
 

Been to Restaurante Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing