We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simple, clean and quiet”
Review of Hostal Acella

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hostal Acella
Ranked #12 of 21 Pamplona B&B and Inns
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
256 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“simple, clean and quiet”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Our room was located in an apartment block and had a shared bathroom. The room was very clean, spacious and had wifi and tv. The bathroom was shared between two other rooms, but we never had to wait and it was always very spotless. The security is also very good.
The woman at reception was really lovely. Reception is in another building close by, and we got keys and given the address.
The location is a bit out of town, it is on the fringes of Pamplona so it takes around 30 minutes or more to reach the centre by walking. It is in a residential area, so there is not much going on - there are a couple of bars nearby and a couple of fast food outlets.
Adequate, no frills accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoMapNoWorries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    11
    15
    4
    5
See reviews for
5
14
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
germany
Level Contributor
62 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

The hostal is in a residential district which is good in that it is surrounded by lots of local restaurants, bars and small shops and it is a very pleasant 15-20 minute walk from the old town.
Our room was in a residential building and was traditionally furnished, with a small but adequate bathroom and the balcony was a bonus.
We came by car and paid a extra for a parking space in a nearby garage. The lady who checked us in spoke reasonable English.
At 83 Euro for a triple room, I would not consider this to be the best value; after all it is just a hostal, with no facilities.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank gingaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We recently stayed here for one night.On arrival we were given a key to our room which was located in another block.It was a room in an apartment block.The room was fine,clean and spacious with a tv.however the bathroom was tiny and really old-fashioned.The hostel was a good bit away from the city centre,we were lucky that we had a car.no breakfast was included and there was no common area to meet other travellers.Overall this is an adequate place unlike any other hostel we have stayed in the sense that there is no interaction with other travellers.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadtripspain2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Fundamentally the apartment was good. It was clean, in good order, in a good location (2km from city centre). But there was lack of crockery. Dirty cutlery. A rotten wooden spoon in the kitchen drawer. A shower gel dispenser in the bathroom was empty. All these could easily be rectified.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stetay76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieppe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2008

I recently went to Pamplona with some friends to the "san Fermines". We stayed 3days there on a really nice room. People were very kind with us and we have no problems with the language. I recomend every boby to go there and stay in Alojamientos Acella, are very good choice.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank vcksmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2007

I recently went to Pamplona, with two friends, for the annual San Fermines festival, also known as the Running of the Bulls. Accommodation is tight and expensive, so we booked several months in advance. Throughout the months before the event, there was some miscommunication (prices higher than listed on website, all payment due well in advance of stay, etc.) with the hotel due to the Spanish/English language barrier (apparently, no employee of the hotel speaks English and my Spanish is poor), but we got everything sorted out. All hotels and hostels in Pamplona increase their prices dramatically during San Fermines, so while we were not happy paying 205 euros for a 2 star triple room that is normally 70 euros, we understood that this was part of this festival.

We only wanted to stay 2 nights, but were required to book and pay for 3 nights anyway. Again, we accepted this as a necessary part of the experience.

On Day 2, we arrived back at our accommodation in the afternoon to find 6 strangers sitting in our room. Apparently, the maid had discovered some plumbing problems. Being a Saturday during this festival in Spain, no plumber was to be found in Pamplona. To make a long story short, the problems were severe enough that by the end of the day, we could not use the toilet, shower or sink in the bathroom. Actually, let me re-phrase...we COULD use the toilet, but when we flushed, the stuff going down came up into the shower. No further details are necessary, I'm sure.

No one at the hotel would do anything to solve the problem. I requested assistance, a shared bathroom or a refund. Nothing was given. I left after two nights, and after some negotiation, they allowed my friends to move into a double room. However, there was no reduction in the price.

So, while the accommodation isn't bad in itself, I would be very cautious about staying here. The grand total of 671.21 euros is a lot to spend if you have to brush your teeth in the park and use portable toilets around the city!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Terrible service at a high cost
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GirlWithCurls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pamplona hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pamplona hotels
0.4 mi away
NH Pamplona Iruna Park
NH Pamplona Iruna Park
#4 of 38 in Pamplona
1,234 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Blanca de Navarra
Hotel Blanca de Navarra
#25 of 38 in Pamplona
155 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Bed4u Pamplona
Hotel Bed4u Pamplona
#17 of 38 in Pamplona
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Alma Pamplona Muga de Beloso
0.1 mi away
Sancho Ramirez Hotel
Sancho Ramirez Hotel
#32 of 38 in Pamplona
161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Abba Reino de Navarra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Acella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Acella

Property: Hostal Acella
Address: Travesia Acella | 3 under, Pamplona, Spain
Location: Spain > Navarra > Pamplona
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Pamplona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal Acella 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hostal Acella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing