We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“small rooms on the main strip” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Castillo de Javier

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Castillo de Javier
Ranked #33 of 37 Hotels in Pamplona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“small rooms on the main strip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

great location. stayed here for one night. not much to see in Pamplona when the bulls aren't running. rooms very small... couldn't even open my suitcase between the bed and wall. but it did the job. the windows are extra thick which completely silenced the busy bars below.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robmixalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    39
    20
    7
    13
See reviews for
13
44
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eldersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

We wanted a hotel within walking distance of the running of the bulls. This room fit our purposes perfectly. it was just a few blocks from the run. The room was quaint, comfortable and clean. As we expected during San Fermin, the price was high, as was the noise level. That said, we saw what we came to see, and had a great time. The only thing I would change is that I would bring a pair of ear plugs next time.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs if you want a good night sleep anywhere in Pamplona during San Fermin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rhc2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
138 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2010

VERY centrally located hotel smack bang in the middle of pamplona. My mother and I shared a twin room here on the last night of our camino trip. The receptionist was very friendly and charged €63 for the twin room. I have heard that the rates are tripled during st Fermin and if I'd paid much more I would have been dissapointed.

On the positive side the room and hotel were clean with all floors served by a lift. The hotel is on one of the main pedestrian streets so there's going to be noise from outside and that is understandable and beyond the control of the hotel. The noise from inside the hotel is much harder to ignore. Maybe we were unlucky but it didn't seem that there had been any effort to sound proof between the rooms or the floors. Unluckily for us there is also a decorative shaft that runs from ground to top floor that was right beside our room. During daylight hours this does its job and send shafts of light through the hotel to the ground floor and all the intervening floors. At night it becomes one huge amplifier that accentuates door closings that are happening two floors away. This isn't conducive to a good nights sleep.
The room had an ensuite and was as previous reviewers said, tiny. Had a balcony out to the street and a flat screen.
If I wanted a crash pad and could get it for less than €70 I'd stay here. Otherwise look elsewhere

Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank brockcork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pamplona hotels

Sydney
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2007

It was a baaaad exprience. Cut my trip the the San Fermin festival a day early to avoid another expensive ordeal - fled to a Madrid hostel. 150 euro are a single room the size - literally of a double bed; and then an ensuite. Terrible. It was peak season, that it was the only place where I felt robbed.

Maybe I was targetted because I am a mid-20s male, but they have a pathological fear of people crashing with the guests in their room. They give a vistor 10 mintues and then come up! Me and my mates tested it out, it only 3 of us slept there, the 3rd guy would have his legs in the bathroom! LOL. I can laugh now.

Great location, but stay away unless you committed a crime, and fell you deserve a sentence in a Turkish prison.

Enjoy the party during San Fermin, it goes on all night, sleep it off in the park, every 2nd day, clean yourself up at the

"Tryp Sancho Ramirez" - that's a hotel!

  • Liked — The Location
  • Disliked — The Price was criminal and the room made you feel like one!
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Smicer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2007

This hotel is located in the heart of old Pamplona. My wife and I stayed in a smallish but very stylish, clean, and comfortable room overlooking the road. Noise was no problem since the road was only open to vehicles in the morning so restaurants could restock. Once here you can walk to tons of restaurants, bars, clubs, shops and all the attractions. Hotel has a small bar/cafe attached as well.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
Thank tkeefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2007

This pension was very nice, but the street side was very loud with all the foot traffic going by in the old town. Also, their web site advertises "Air Conditioning" in the rooms. That is patently false; either you open the window or turn on heat. Those are your choices for temperature adjustment.

  • Liked — room layout
  • Disliked — hot rooms/no A/C
  • Stayed May 2007
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bcbennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pamplona hotels
0.1 mi away
Maisonnave Hotel
Maisonnave Hotel
#8 of 37 in Pamplona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurante Europa
Hotel Restaurante Europa
#18 of 37 in Pamplona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pamplona Catedral Hotel
Pamplona Catedral Hotel
#7 of 37 in Pamplona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eslava
Hotel Eslava
#24 of 37 in Pamplona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yoldi Hotel
Yoldi Hotel
#17 of 37 in Pamplona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sercotel Leyre
Sercotel Leyre
#13 of 37 in Pamplona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castillo de Javier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castillo de Javier

Property: Hotel Castillo de Javier
Address: Calle San Nicolas 50-52, 31001, Pamplona, Spain
Location: Spain > Navarra > Pamplona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 37 Hotels in Pamplona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Castillo de Javier 1*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Castillo de Javier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing