We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful new and historic old”
Review of Pamplona Catedral

Pamplona Catedral
Ranked #3 of 65 things to do in Pamplona
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful new and historic old”
Reviewed January 11, 2012

I did not go into the Cathedral so I wasn't exposed to all of the amazing architecture and details. However, I did walk around the outside, and one of the most interesting things I saw the original cathedral and how amazing a job they did on restoring it. I couldn't even believe it was the same building.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    578
    374
    118
    13
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed December 5, 2011

Romanesque/gothic cloisters are wonderful. The museum is very worth while to visit. Catedral it self is interesting at night and day at busy times and empty times.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank dipti29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Beautiful ancient Cathedral”
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Pamplona, Navarra Spain is such an interesting city. The Old City is amazing to just stroll around the winding, narrow streets. The old architecture and the people just bring you back in time. The history surrounding these ancient pathways along the Camino Santiago, are so interesting. The people are friendly, and live an easy going, laid back lifestyle (including afternoon siesta!) One "must see" is the Pamplona Cathdral. They were doing some archeological excavation in the central Cloister when I visited. I could walk right up, and peek into the petrified remains in ancient burial vaults of clergy and Spanish Royalty buried there back in the early 14th century. Amazing architecture, as there is all over Spain. Gothic, Baroque, Romanesque, every type of building design and style imaginable.. The religious sculptures, carvings and paintings will amaze you. Everthing is so well maintained and preserved for being 700+ or 800+ years old. (and even older!) I thought of how King Ferdinand and Queen Isabella back in the late 1400s may have walked the same steps as I was when I visited this gorgeous place. Go to the Cathedral!! its beautiful.

Visited October 2010
Helpful?
5 Thank ben795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Tucked away treasure”
Reviewed July 28, 2004

The cathedral is tucked away off of the main rd Pasea de Hemingway. Go to Plaza de Toros then follow signs to the cathedral-most likely you will get a little lost as we did. The sts become narrow and the signs leading to the cathedral seem to cease. Many of the rds were closed due to construction when we were there (June 2004). The courtyard is decieving. It does not appear to be a church at all. Once inside you walk arounf the square. The detail and craftmenship is amazing. Inside the church itself the most sought after sight is the tomb of Carlos III and his wife Dona Leonor. The church is beautiful despite its dark gloominess. This is one cathedral that lacks light.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pamplona Catedral also viewed

 
Pamplona, Navarra
 

Been to Pamplona Catedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing