We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and refined”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gran Hotel La Perla
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Pamplona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Having recently undergone a sympathetic restoration, this grand old hotel is back to its magnificent best. Conveniently located in the heart of the city, La Perla exudes elegance and luxury. The rooms are quiet and well-appointed - it's a perfect honeymoon venue.The bar is a bit of a disappointment but as there are so many great places a stone's throw away it isn't much of a problem!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vinny_Salvatore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 336 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013

We spent two nights here in July, at the start of our honeymoon road trip road the Basque Country. What a fantastic hotel, from the beautiful large room we had with two balconies overlooking the square, to the friendly helpful staff, who were happy to show us Hemmingway's old room. The small details were just right, from the spa toiletries, big bath, spa shower, to the nightly turn down of the very large comfortable bed. Loved having a drink on our balcony before going strolling in the evenings.There is an elegant but cosy looking lounge in the basement which I discovered, good for cold winter nights I should think. We ate a good breakfast over at the historic Cafe Iruna, and plenty of great places for pintxos in the evening. Pamplona is full of history, art and culture - and lively on the summer Thursday and Friday nights we were there. Lots to do and definitely will return and stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ConstanceSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I've stayed here twice now, for a total of 8 or 9 nights, and absolutely love it. The European elegance, warm hospitality, spotless cleanliness, excellent cuisine, historic significance and very central location all make it a "must" when you're visiting Pamplona for leisure or business. You can walk to the many historic attractions from here, and for lunchtime and evenings, you are a stone's throw from pintxos bars, cafés and fine restaurants.

The rooms are very spacious and spotlessly clean, with amazing-comfortable beds and pillows, large bathrooms, luxurious walk-in showers and the hotel's own wonderful-smelling bath amenities.

The hotel's been under the same family ownership for generations, and there's quite a bit of longtime staff, too. In a hotel used to having celebrities and VIPs among its guests, it is so nice to see the owner and staff treat all of the guests like VIPs. One really feels at home in this hotel, and you will feel honored to sign their famous Guest Book.

Another plus is that the hotel itself is not too big. The magnificent restaurant, La Cocina de Alex Múgica (featuring regional specialties of Navarra and local products and wines) is a cozy, warm and intimate space. It is also the breakfast room, with pretty wallpaper and a beautiful painting of a bullfighter overlooking the tables. It's very nice to have breakfast in a room which isn't too hectic or overwhelming, and it is great for once to not see a buffet. Rather, a European style continental breakfast is brought to you, and if you wish to have eggs or other protein, that can be requested.

Prices seem very reasonable for a hotel of this calibre, especially if you're there in the off-season (meaning, not for the Running of the Bulls). But they even seem reasonable if you decide to splurge and go in July for that festival, from what I see from online rate searches.

Room Tip: Views from the rooms can't be beat, whether you're overlooking the calle Estafeta on one sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pw1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

So the "Running of the Bulls" is on your bucket list and you have a pretty good budget to spend. You want to be the middle of everything that happens and don't want to put up with any hassles getting place to place in the old city. If so, this hotel is a good place to start looking.
I booked this hotel during the San Fermin festival and glad I did. The second our party arrived, our luggage was taken care and we were quickly checked in. The front office staff was great and made our stay a pleasant one.
Our room was a Jr. Suite (Room 406) that had a balcony overlooking the Plaza del Castillo, this is recommended because you get to basically see everything; the pena bands playing, the street performers, the 11PM fireworks show, the midnight concerts. It is also a great place to people watch. The room were quite large, the bathroom had a large tub and great shower with double sinks. The only negative I had was the one ply toliet paper. With this being a 4-5 star hotel, you would think that they would have 2 ply soft toliet paper. One ply felt like sandpaper.
Anything we wanted to do was within walking distance. The furthest I had to walk was from the bullring to the hotel. A taxi or bus was not needed unless you want to leave the old city.
On bullrun mornings, my walk from the hotel to the 7:30am City Hall staging area was less than 2 minutes. If you are not running, you can grab breakfast downstairs and watch the bullrun go right past the restaurant windows. The restaurant have one way windows, where you can look out but the people outside can't look in. For breakfast you are given a trey of breads with a mixture of meats, fish, jams and butter. You can also have an egg omelet with it.
I consider the hotel safe, the main entrance is looked after with 2 people on duty. They make sure that the people who enter are hotel guests. A note on the hotel keys. They are not electronic card keys, it's a real key with a key ring with your room number and the name of the hotel. The hotel staff wants you to leave the key at the front desk when you walk outside of the hotel. You do not want to lose or misplace your key.
Checking out of the hotel was simple and easy. One worry we had was rolling our luggage outside and walking a distance looking for a taxi since the Plaza is basically closed to vehicle traffic. While we were checking out, we asked for one. Within a minute of our request a late model Mercedes Benz taxi rolling up to the door and we were wisked in style straight to the airport.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank al2ktoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

This was the last of many hotels we stayed in on our London to Madrid road trip and by far the best, The staff are excellent, the rooms spacious and beautifully decorated, it was so nice we stayed another night, I would recommend this hotel to anyone, just book it and I guarantee you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baserati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This hotel is fantastic. We stayed during San Fermines when the prices are quite steep, and it was still completely worth it. The staff is so friendly and helpful. The rooms are amazing, comfortable, and include great amenities. I will definitely return to this hotel in the future. It is perfect for San Fermines as the balcony views are wonderful, and the location is in the main plaza in Pamplona.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank domcar10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Our room had no view, I am sure there are rooms that are much better. And still it was great. The bathroom, the amenities, all very high quality. This is a five- or 4.5-star place, definitely worth a splurge. We enjoyed it very much. The staff was great too. I would gladly visit again.

Our room rate included a dinner at Cafe Iruna (we had a lunch instead). That was also a great experience.

A warning for people driving: you have to know how to get there. Our GPS was useless. There is only one place to enter Plaza del Castillo and then you just drive across the pedestrian plaza, closed to normal traffic (yes!) right to the hotel. The parking is valet 25 euro + tax per day.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ATL F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pamplona hotels
0.1 mi away
Maisonnave Hotel
Maisonnave Hotel
#6 of 38 in Pamplona
1,002 reviews
1.0 mi away
Alma Pamplona Muga de Beloso
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palacio Guendulain
Hotel Palacio Guendulain
#4 of 38 in Pamplona
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
NH Pamplona Iruna Park
NH Pamplona Iruna Park
#5 of 38 in Pamplona
354 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tres Reyes
Hotel Tres Reyes
#7 of 38 in Pamplona
672 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pamplona Catedral Hotel
Pamplona Catedral Hotel
#8 of 38 in Pamplona
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel La Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel La Perla

Address: Plaza Castillo 1, 31001, Pamplona, Spain
Location: Spain > Navarra > Pamplona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pamplona
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pamplona
#3 Luxury Hotel in Pamplona
#3 Business Hotel in Pamplona
Price Range: $158 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Hotel La Perla 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Hotel La Perla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Perla Pamplona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing