We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Hotel La Perla

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gran Hotel La Perla
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Pamplona
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We had a wonderful three-night stay at The Gran Hotel La Perla. Excellent service, helpful staff, and a beautiful room (107) right on the square. The room is huge, with a beautiful bathroom. We were there over Halloween. Very exciting. Loved everything about Pamplona, especially Gran Hotel La Perla!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CarolineR2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    34
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
37
123
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
403 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This was a gorgeous hotel. We pulled in on motorcycles after a very long day. Because we have been traveling in low season, all hotels have offered a low season rate, especially showing up late in the afternoon without a reservation. No such luck here, but we were tired and decided to stay. We've stayed in many Relais and Chateaux hotels in the past and this didn't disappoint. The room was beautiful and the public areas also gorgeous. The front desk staff, I think initially a little put off by these two motorcyclists, ended up being quite gracious and helpful. I am also a big Ernest Hemingway fan, and to stay in his beloved (albeit markedly refurbished) Hotel Montoya was a treat.
We had a drink in the sunny square, tapas at a lively bar later on. Wandered around the streets. Must say we were a little "under-whelmed" with Pamplona vs other destinations on our trip.
Opted not to pay the exhorbitant rates for parking and breakfast. We had a pastry and cafe con leche at the cafe next door for 8 Euros along with the locals. Much more charming.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MEAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This place isn't cheap and I baulked at the price of breakfast but the rooms that we and our friends had were big,comfortable and swish.The shower cubicle was bigger than some rooms we've had,the bed was large,luxurious and furnished with crisp linen.We had an outlook over the street but,for the same price,our friends had a view over the square as well.

Having been recently refurbished,one couldn't expect bundles of character about the place but it has an individual feel about it and the welcome from all staff was friendly and helpful.Our friends had parked some streets away from the hotel but their car was parked and returned with no fuss.Having said that,at 29 Euros per day,one would expect nothing less.

We were in the thick of things for the September fiesta since the hotel is right on the Plaza del Castillo within yards of the Cafe Iruna and innumerable other less fancy eating and drinking places:no need to struggle with premium prices in the hotel if you don't want to.

Pamplona,even without the bulls is a cracking place and La Perla is a great place to rest your head after experiencing its joys.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank retiredstudent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quijano, spain
Level Contributor
107 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

For family reasons, have been in Pamplona 5 times in the last 4 months, staying in 3 different hotels. This is, by far, the best (although the most expensive). Arriving by car, when you get lost (and you will), the staff direct you to the hotel and you are met with a wonderful reception. Rooms are all different and spacious. Bathrooms are huge - from "double baths" to "double showers". All immaculately clean. Breakfast (if you have included "La Perla" breakfast) is more than sufficient, although this time, the service could have been better. Reception staff, as usual, wonderful people, who know the area and can suggest/reserve good restaurants, and always asking if you are happy. I love the place, makes for a wonderfully relaxing weekend and will be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank quijano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed for one night in Pamplona and so glad we found La Perla. We were given what must be a suite although we just booked a standard room, it had windows on two sides with balcony overlooking the main square. Huge modern bathroom with seperate shower and toilet and bedroom with sitting room area, all decorated beautifully with all amenities you could want. Staff were extremely helpful, parking the car and offering advice on what to do. Pamplona is beautiful if very quiet at that time of year which is why we probably got a great rate for the night but we had a lovely day exploring the sights and a great night exploring the pinchos bars, well worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
246 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Right in the corner of the beautiful Plaza de Castilla, and next to Hemingway's favorite bar in Pamplona, Cafe Iruña, stands this beautiful hotel. The rooms are large and tastefully decorated. Renovation was succesful and the bathrooms impecable. Staff attentive and helpful! When visiting Pamplona, to stay at 'La Perla' is a must!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to the Plaza
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cocolo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamplona, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

we are here to start the Camino in two days from today . We will be waking for 32 days a great place before we start!!
great staff. greta room we are very happy!!
Very helpful staff, the rooms are very clean . the ameneties kit great at the bathroom
we recomend

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marise c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pamplona hotels
1.0 mi away
AlmaPamplona Muga de Beloso
0.1 mi away
Maisonnave Hotel
Maisonnave Hotel
#5 of 37 in Pamplona
4.0 of 5 stars 775 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palacio Guendulain
Hotel Palacio Guendulain
#4 of 37 in Pamplona
4.5 of 5 stars 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
NH Pamplona Iruna Park
NH Pamplona Iruna Park
#6 of 37 in Pamplona
4.0 of 5 stars 874 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tres Reyes
Hotel Tres Reyes
#10 of 37 in Pamplona
4.0 of 5 stars 429 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pamplona Catedral Hotel
Pamplona Catedral Hotel
#8 of 37 in Pamplona
4.0 of 5 stars 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel La Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel La Perla

Property: Gran Hotel La Perla
Address: Plaza Castillo 1, 31001, Pamplona, Spain
Location: Spain > Navarra > Pamplona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pamplona
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pamplona
#3 Luxury Hotel in Pamplona
#3 Business Hotel in Pamplona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Hotel La Perla 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Gran Hotel La Perla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Perla Pamplona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing