We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gran Hotel La Perla
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Pamplona
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great hotel, excellent location”
Reviewed January 6, 2012

You can't beat the location of this hotel, a bit tricky if you try to get to it by car. Service is great and rooms are spacious and well appointed. Highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: Try to get a good room facing the main square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodcord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    45
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
54
159
10
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

If heading to Spain for the san Fermin Festival, this is THE place to stay. The hotel is right on the main plaza and the daily bull run takes place right around the corner from the hotel. Everything from the front desk service to the quality of the rooms was top notch and you couldn't ask for a better location.
Only downside? Since the party never stops during the festival and the hotel is in the center of the action, earplugs would be strongly encouraged if you want to get some serious sleep. Even with the soundproofed rooms couldn't keep all of the noise out during the late night parades.

Room Tip: A basic room was perfect for two travelers. No need to upgrade to a fancy room unless you have the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank section735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

A charming and historic hotel in the very best of locations at the heart of this delightful city.
For us, the immediate area had the best tapas so far in Spain - Mo next Europa and Bar Caucho were our favourites.
Whilst the rooms sizes are not generous, most rooms seem to enjoy a balcony with either a view of the city's main square or the main lane of the bull lane.
My only gripe was parking was almost 20% of the room rate however the hotel did offer free wifi and service was attentive and personal.
Enjoy.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynden K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
regina, canada
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Stayed here in late July (after the bull running was over) in the middle of a month long trip around northern Spain. Based on the reviews we expected something great, but this hotel still exceeded our expectations. It's located right on the main plaza, close to all of the things worth seeing in Pamplona. The shower room was our favourite part of the room, consisting of a large (at least 40 sq ft) tiled room that included a 3-way setting for directing the water. The bath towels were huge, and the complimentary robes luxurious. Even the his and her swag bags full of toiletries provided by the hotel were first rate. My wife had trouble finding pillows that she liked at most of the hotels we stayed at, but not at this hotel, which provided 3 different types, in varying sizes and firmness. The flooring in the hotel lobby, stairs and halls was marble through-out, and provided a very classy feel. And to top it off the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, without being snobs. They quickly learned our names and greeted us when we left and returned. If you are going to Pamplona, do yourself a favour and stay here. One final thing - the value was fantastic. We paid twice as much at some other hotels and enjoyed our stays half as much as we did at La Perla. Would definitely stay here again, this was our favourite hotel of the entire trip.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank livetotravelcdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2011

We weren´t expecting to stay at La Perla because we´d actually booked into the 3 star hotel La Maisonnave. So it was quite unexpected when we were upgraded to stay here!
The location was unrivalled within Pamplona, right on the main square, surrounded by beautiful backstreets full of Pintxos bars and tavernas.
The room itself was superb, very clean, spacious and with an impressive wetroom.

We would highly recommend this hotel if you´re looking for a luxurious getaway in the heart of Pamplona.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgieDickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2011

This famous hotel has a legacy, overlooking the city main square. As an hotelier, I knew while staying an overnight in Pamplona this hotel is a must. After the renovation, preserving the old atmosphere of the old veteran La Perla, the hotel is a jewel. Our room was fantastic. Big and specious with a balcony to the Ansiero street where one can watch the San Fermin Bull Run in summer.

The bed was great, the bathroom was an adventure and the entire stay was something to remember, thinking of Ernst Hemingway staying in a room above you many years ago.

Just minor things to improve – a duvet blanket is much more appropriate in this kind of a hotel instead of the wool one. The automatic lights are too complicated to handle and when you wake up at the night to go to the bathroom the whole corridor is suddenly full of light. But – it is a must hotel for visitors to the city.

Go for it.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank move_israel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2010

This hotel is newly refurbished with exceptional facilities and decor. Centrally located on an impressive central plazza it was where Ernest Hemmingway called home during his twilight years. The gentleman who greeted us when we arrived could not have been more pleasant and accomodating of our needs. The price was very reasonable given the experience.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoelBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pamplona hotels
0.1 mi away
Maisonnave Hotel
Maisonnave Hotel
#6 of 38 in Pamplona
974 reviews
1.0 mi away
Alma Pamplona Muga de Beloso
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palacio Guendulain
Hotel Palacio Guendulain
#5 of 38 in Pamplona
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tres Reyes
Hotel Tres Reyes
#9 of 38 in Pamplona
649 reviews
1.1 mi away
NH Pamplona Iruna Park
NH Pamplona Iruna Park
#4 of 38 in Pamplona
738 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pamplona Catedral Hotel
Pamplona Catedral Hotel
#7 of 38 in Pamplona
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel La Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel La Perla

Property: Gran Hotel La Perla
Address: Plaza Castillo 1, 31001, Pamplona, Spain
Location: Spain > Navarra > Pamplona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pamplona
#3 Luxury Hotel in Pamplona
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pamplona
#3 Business Hotel in Pamplona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Hotel La Perla 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Hotel La Perla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Perla Pamplona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing