We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“San Fermin Respite”
Review of Hotel Albret

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Albret
Ranked #17 of 38 Hotels in Pamplona
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
324 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“San Fermin Respite”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed here during San Fermin and would recommend it. It's about a 30 minute walk to the festival activities and even shorter via bus 12. Very clean, it has one of the most outstanding breakfast buffets you will ever find (though it is pretty pricey). Free WiFi services are available, but are not very reliable (like much of Spain).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moviegeekjn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    138
    39
    8
    3
See reviews for
62
82
13
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malta
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The hotel's location is excellent - a few minutes away from the centre but in a quiet area. Parking our rented car was not a problem. We could have used hotel's garage. However we opted to park it in the parking spaces outside the hotel. The receptionists were welcoming and extremely helpful. The room has well sized and spotless, with a large TV, A/C and minibar. The TV channel lineup was rather disappointing as only four channels were on offer. But who would stay in when there's so much to do in Pamplona? Wifi was available in the lobby and hotel room for free and the wifi strength was excellent. The hotel cafeteria made a mean cafe con leche. However, we opted to explore other cafeterias in the area for breakfast and were never disappointed. There are a couple of parks near the hotel should one feel like an evening stroll. This hotel is a keeper!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the residential area at the side of the hotel since these are sunnier...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

I've stayed here each of the last two years for the San Fermin and will stay here again. Very clean, American style hotel rooms, air conditioning, great bathroom. Very nice - it is a good 20-30min walk down to the city centre and that is something to think about for the morning encierro, but it is very quiet and a great staging point to enjoy the festival.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank josk34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Great accommodations.. Just down the hill from the festival.. Buses run every 10 minutes, and stop 40 meters from the front door... The Albret has an outstanding restaurant with reasonable prices, even at the time of the festival of San Fermin.. This is my fourth stay at the Albret, and I can't say enough good things about it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tsawwassen-Wayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Myself and 2 friends stayed at this hotel for 4 nights during the San Fermin Festival and the Running of the Bulls. The hotel was good, although it is about a 1.5 mile (30 minute) walk from the old section of Pamplona.

THE GOOD:
-Rooms: Clean, modern
-Cleanliness: Everything was spotless as near as I could tell
-Staff: Not all of them were fluent in English, but this is Spain, so you should be used to that. Regardless, the staff were very nice and accommodating of my lackluster Spanish
-Breakfast: Varied and filling, although about 11 EUR per person per morning (was NOT included when I booked through Expedia)
-Sleep: Comfortable beds, blackout curtains, cold A/C. What more do you want?
-Maps: Just a little thing, but helpful-- they had very informative and free maps in the lobby to take with you

THE MEDIOCRE:
-Internet: It was SLOOOOW in the lobby and did NOT work at all on the 6th floor. That being said, it was free, albeit frustrating at times.
-Location: It was a doable walk into town with only 2 or 3 turns, but walking it a few times a day got old very fast.

THE BAD:
-Nothing. The location would be bad if you aren't prepared to walk, but you should be able to catch a nearby bus or taxi.


Hopefully the internet issue is soon resolved-- otherwise, except for the walk, this was a great hotel. No other complaints.

Room Tip: Be aware that there are smoking rooms in this hotel (even through Europe seems to be banning smoking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schruminator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I thought this hotel was great! It rooms are beautifully laid out and the staff is kind and accommodating. It is also very quiet at night so that you can get a good sleep. The hotel has a nice cafe and a continental style breakfast. However, if you are traveling to Pamplona for the San Fermin festival you may find it to be a bit out of the way. I found it hard to navigate my way back to the hotel from the city center.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MargaretH435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We picked this hotel because it was out of "party central" during the running of the bulls. A little too far out, it was a 30 minute walk. I would pick to stay at Tres Reyes if you want to be closer. It was clean and spacious, beds were a little hard. It was part of our package with SPYNS tour company, I would definitely use them in the future. Spyns was the way to go!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pickychiclet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pamplona hotels
0.3 mi away
NH Pamplona Iruna Park
NH Pamplona Iruna Park
#5 of 38 in Pamplona
734 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Zenit Pamplona
Hotel Zenit Pamplona
#7 of 38 in Pamplona
406 reviews
1.3 mi away
Maisonnave Hotel
Maisonnave Hotel
#6 of 38 in Pamplona
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Bed4u Pamplona
Hotel Bed4u Pamplona
#16 of 38 in Pamplona
420 reviews
1.5 mi away
Andia Hotel Pamplona
Andia Hotel Pamplona
#22 of 38 in Pamplona
161 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Tres Reyes
Hotel Tres Reyes
#9 of 38 in Pamplona
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albret

Property: Hotel Albret
Address: Calle Ermitagana 3, 31008, Pamplona, Spain
Location: Spain > Navarra > Pamplona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Pamplona
#11 Luxury Hotel in Pamplona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Albret 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with getaroom.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Albret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albret Hotel Pamplona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing