We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top!!”

La Cocina De Alex Mugica
Ranked #9 of 547 Restaurants in Pamplona
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fusion
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Top!!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We arrived bere just for chance. 3 types of choice: tapas e raciones served at the "bar" and menu à la carte in the restaurant. Better booking in advance if you want to sit in the restaurant. Excellent quality, presentation and kindness (we dont speak spanish and they tried to explain us each dish).

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LeParoleServono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    296
    199
    48
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good and execution”
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for good food, away from tapas this is a good alternative. We where surprised by very delicate dishes and taste. Highly recommended. Good value.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lkindem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelseyville, California
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Special meal while running with the bulls!”
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

We were lucky enough to get a table for 6 on a busy day during the running of the bulls . We arrived at 2 and were the only table filled for close to an hour and then the whole restAurant filled with locals celebrating their festival. Tasting menu was 50 eu. 3 good size courses with a selection of meat and fish . Top quality ingredients with beautiful plating and efficient and helpful service. Reasonably priced wine selection. Oxtail was perfectly cooked. Fabulous desserts and each order gets a small portion of all 3 on menu. Starters were similarly delicious. It's expensive but definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pierro3816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Incredible”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We arrived in Pamplona on a Friday afternoon during a motorcycle tour of northern Spain. We intended to stay for 1 night, and really struggled to find a hotel with availability. Eventually, we had to stay slightly outside of the main city at the NH hotel, but the staff wholeheartedly recommended “La Cocina De Alex Mugica”. We also discovered that the city was so busy because there was a festival on for the weekend, some kind of small “San Fermin” without the bulls!
We took a taxi to the city and went to the main Plaza, which was absolutely alive with people. When we found the restaurant, it was completely overbooked, but the hostess asked us in Perfect English if we could return at 10PM, and she would fit us in. We returned an hour later after enjoying some drinks and the atmosphere in the town, and were shown to our table right away. There was only a special set menu available during the fiesta, where you selected one main course, but all of the other courses were brought as small taster sizes portions, of some of the most creative Spanish cooking I have experienced.
The hostess also acted as our Sommelier, and provided an excellent recommendation based on our choice of main course, and from the point of being given the menu, to being brought our food, to asking for our bill, the service was extremely attentive, with the whole experience proving to be a real gourmet ‘treat’ on our motorcycling vacation. Whole heartedly recommended, and for sure If I return to Pamplona with my family or on business I will most definitely return to this restaurant.
The prices were on the high side for Spain, but low for such quality compared to UK prices, however I had absolutely no reservations about paying our bill, which amounted to approximately 55€ per person including wine.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amaizing”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Pamplona is a wonderful city for gourmets, but this one is somthing special. First of all is a modern restaurant in a traditional building. It is in the basement of the famous HOTEL LA PERLA taht hosted Ernest Hemingway on his frequents visits to Pamplona.
Steering the wheels, an innovative Alex Mugica, that blends flavours strikingly well. Not a big place, so you better book ahead.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank femab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cocina De Alex Mugica also viewed

Pamplona, Navarra
Pamplona, Navarra
 
Pamplona, Navarra
Pamplona, Navarra
 

Been to La Cocina De Alex Mugica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing