We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel in the Center of Pamplona, Navarra”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Palacio Guendulain
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Pamplona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed two nights here in a Northern Spain trip. All can I say is that the experience was EXCELLENT in a lot of aspects.
It is a beautiful restored palace that maintains some of the fixtures from its previous days. It is located near everything relevant in Pamplona. The Staff is very professional and friendly.
Having breakfast with a silver service is a very nice touch. And small details like having a red wine not stored in the mini bar fridge is highly appreciated.
And last but not least spacious rooms and the beds are quite comfortable.
We did enjoy our stay

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vascoargentino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (312)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 312 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2013

If you are visiting Pamplona for a short time, and want to stay in a centrally located hotel in the old town, then this is the place. The old part of town is small and easily walkable, and this luxe hotel is steps from it all. The downtown palace is austere on the outside, but very warm and perfectly restored on the inside. The rooms are very comfortable and modern, with the best shower that I have had in Spain. The staff was very helpful and friendly, and would not hear of me carrying in my bags. The charm of the palace can be seen in the common rooms on the ground and first floors. In the ground floor, there was a very large and ornate original carriage festooned with gold, and out the back in the courtyard was a collection of antique carriages and old restored cars that would be of interest to transportation zealots. The logo of the hotel is the fancy royal carriage located inside. The first floor's common rooms and dining room was decorated as you would expect a palace to be and numerous large portraits on the walls. Though I only stayed here for one night, I would stay here on my next trip to Pamplona.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Ono O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Lovely restored palace in the center of town. Spacious room, updated bathroom. Beautiful common rooms - you do feel like you are in a palace. Very charming. Breakfast in a room overlooking a lovely square Would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SanAnselmoSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful restored palace. Not cheap but well worth it. Nice touches like red wine not stored in the mini bar fridge so its at room temp. Fab toiletries. Amazing breakfast in a period style with silver service. Very central only a short walk from main square. Excellent friendly staff.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here one night during our 3 week stay in Spain, and it was one of our favourite places to stay. It's one of the Small Luxury Hotels of the world and fully deserving of that accolade. The building is a very old one but very beautifully refurbished into a charming hotel. The room was very well appointed (no bathrobe or bedroom slippers though) and service was excellent.

We had a little trouble driving to the hotel using the built in GPS in the car, but after a few rounds and asking for directions we made it. It is tucked away in a little lane, so it's very quiet. They valet parked our car, and had our luggage taken to our room. The valet (I can't remember his name) was extremely helpful and polite and gave us excellent directions on a short cut to get to Europa, where we had a lunch booking and where we had one of our best meals in Spain. It is less than 5 minutes' walk away.

Breakfast was sumptuous. But what it's really got going is the hotel itself, its furnishings and service. We will definitely return if we're ever in Pamplona!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrsfootloose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Palacio Guendulain whilst travelling from Barcelona to the north. This hotel is by far the most amazing experience so far on our trip.

The rooms are beautiful. Food is incredible ( we just had the 5 course degustation) and great value for a 5 star hotel. By the way have stayed in three 5star hotels so far and this is truly 5 star. Also the Michellin logo on the website isn't because they support Michellin tyres....

This hotel is also very central to wonderful walks through the old town and I I ly have one negative comment - apparently it snowed yesterday and we missed it !

Highly recommend this hotel if you want to stay in an early 18th century building with much history and clever linkage with modern facilities.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Newmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

I am very happy to review for this hotel, as it was the best one I stayed in a 20 day trip thru Spain. First of all it in the heart of the old town. The palace itself is just amazing (300 yeard old). Service is more than excellent, breakfast is amazing. Clean, quiet, beautiful. Expensive, but you have to think of it as an experience, not a simple staying.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zavar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pamplona
0.2 mi away
Gran Hotel La Perla
Gran Hotel La Perla
#2 of 35 in Pamplona
338 reviews
0 mi away
Maisonnave Hotel
Maisonnave Hotel
#4 of 35 in Pamplona
1,019 reviews
1.1 mi away
Alma Pamplona Muga de Beloso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Castillo Gorraiz Hotel Golf & Spa
0.3 mi away
Pamplona Catedral Hotel
Pamplona Catedral Hotel
#8 of 35 in Pamplona
650 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tres Reyes
Hotel Tres Reyes
#6 of 35 in Pamplona
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palacio Guendulain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palacio Guendulain

Address: Calle Zapateria 53, 31001, Pamplona, Spain
Location: Spain > Navarra > Pamplona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Pamplona
Price Range: $134 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palacio Guendulain 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 18th century by D. Sebastian de Eslava, Viceroy of New Granada, Palacio Guendulain is one of the most prominent buildings in Pamplona, located in the old part of town. Palacio Guendulain offers its guests a unique balance between the comfort of a modern luxury hotel and the history and charm of an emblematic 18th century building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Palacio Guendulain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing