We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our favourite places in Spain- luxurious & charming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Palacio Guendulain
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Pamplona
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“One of our favourite places in Spain- luxurious & charming”
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here one night during our 3 week stay in Spain, and it was one of our favourite places to stay. It's one of the Small Luxury Hotels of the world and fully deserving of that accolade. The building is a very old one but very beautifully refurbished into a charming hotel. The room was very well appointed (no bathrobe or bedroom slippers though) and service was excellent.

We had a little trouble driving to the hotel using the built in GPS in the car, but after a few rounds and asking for directions we made it. It is tucked away in a little lane, so it's very quiet. They valet parked our car, and had our luggage taken to our room. The valet (I can't remember his name) was extremely helpful and polite and gave us excellent directions on a short cut to get to Europa, where we had a lunch booking and where we had one of our best meals in Spain. It is less than 5 minutes' walk away.

Breakfast was sumptuous. But what it's really got going is the hotel itself, its furnishings and service. We will definitely return if we're ever in Pamplona!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrsfootloose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    57
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
50
147
6
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Palacio Guendulain whilst travelling from Barcelona to the north. This hotel is by far the most amazing experience so far on our trip.

The rooms are beautiful. Food is incredible ( we just had the 5 course degustation) and great value for a 5 star hotel. By the way have stayed in three 5star hotels so far and this is truly 5 star. Also the Michellin logo on the website isn't because they support Michellin tyres....

This hotel is also very central to wonderful walks through the old town and I I ly have one negative comment - apparently it snowed yesterday and we missed it !

Highly recommend this hotel if you want to stay in an early 18th century building with much history and clever linkage with modern facilities.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Newmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

I am very happy to review for this hotel, as it was the best one I stayed in a 20 day trip thru Spain. First of all it in the heart of the old town. The palace itself is just amazing (300 yeard old). Service is more than excellent, breakfast is amazing. Clean, quiet, beautiful. Expensive, but you have to think of it as an experience, not a simple staying.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zavar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Situated in a beautiful building in central Pamplona, yet very peaceful and quiet inside. Our room was very comfortable, and the level of service from everyone at the hotel was first class. The fact that it is so quiet inside meant that it wasn't very appealing to spend time in the bar or restaurant, however the location means that there is more than enough in the near vicinity.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 851trotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Charming old fashioned, comfortable hotel, yet reasonable cost. The parking, though quite close was a bit of a challenge to get into and get the car out of but fueled by a lovely breakfast in their beautiful dining room, we overlooked it. We ate dinner inth tapas bars around nearby. Bedrooms are very comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catherine266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks, UK
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed for one night after overnight ferry Plymouth-Santander. About 2 hours easy journey from Santander.
Beautifully restored hotel. Lovely room overlooking the courtyard and old houses at the rear. Service was excellent and porters and reception very helpful.
Location is quiet yet right in the heart of the old town with underground parking about 100 yards away.
Evidently Napoleon stayed here during the Peninsula Wars; yes we had to look it up on the internet as well. Remember Duke of Wellington and Sharp!
Only downside was that we couldn't get wi-fi internet access; it's there but for some reason the password didn't register on our lap-top.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hookyBucks_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed here for one night on a business trip to the area. Both service and accomodation were to a high standard, all within the perfect surroundings of this tastefully restored palace...Peaceful location, but in the centre of town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alueng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pamplona hotels
0.0 mi away
Maisonnave Hotel
Maisonnave Hotel
#6 of 38 in Pamplona
957 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gran Hotel La Perla
Gran Hotel La Perla
#3 of 38 in Pamplona
314 reviews
1.1 mi away
Alma Pamplona Muga de Beloso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tres Reyes
Hotel Tres Reyes
#9 of 38 in Pamplona
627 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pamplona Catedral Hotel
Pamplona Catedral Hotel
#7 of 38 in Pamplona
607 reviews
1.0 mi away
NH Pamplona Iruna Park
NH Pamplona Iruna Park
#4 of 38 in Pamplona
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palacio Guendulain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palacio Guendulain

Property: Hotel Palacio Guendulain
Address: Calle Zapateria 53, 31001, Pamplona, Spain
Location: Spain > Navarra > Pamplona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Pamplona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palacio Guendulain 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 18th century by D. Sebastian de Eslava, Viceroy of New Granada, Palacio Guendulain is one of the most prominent buildings in Pamplona, located in the old part of town. Palacio Guendulain offers its guests a unique balance between the comfort of a modern luxury hotel and the history and charm of an emblematic 18th century building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Palacio Guendulain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing