We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Palacio Guendulain
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Eslava(Pamplona)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Yoldi Hotel(Pamplona)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Avenida(Pamplona)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (316)
Filter reviews
316 results
Traveler rating
240
62
8
2
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
240
62
8
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconverted palacebeautiful hotelold palacegrand staircaseold townperiod piecesantique carslap tophorse carriagesmall plazacommon rooms arefamily historymodern comfortssteeped in historypublic areasbreakfast roomon display
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
128 - 133 of 316 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2012

During a recent two-week visit of Spain, Hotel Palacio Guendulain was by far the nicest hotel in which we stayed. Rated a 4 star hotel, it merited 5 stars. An historic palace, the art, decor, and historic artifacts merited a museum fee. We had a dinner delivered to our room--pork cheeks. It was one of the best meals of our trip. The room meets high standards--large, clean, well-lit, well-appointed, and beautiful.

The hotel is located within a 5-minute walk of many sights. It is a little difficult to find and you must park in a parking facility a few minutes walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mramos8556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed here as part of the first night of a walking tour on the Camino de Santiago, so a brief but very pleasant stay.

The hotel was originally a royal palace and is still owned by the family but now operated by the hotel to ensure it's upkeep.

It's very charming, not in a chintzy fussy way, but gives you a brief glimpse of what it might have been like to have been part of aristocracy as you wend your way down the grand staircases with dramatic chandeliers. There's old royal coaches and other museum pieces and artworks to admire and develop a sense of the history of the place.
We had a standard room, which whilst not large was perfectly formed, with high quality linens and towelling, lovely bathroom amenities, and the bathroom large, modern & carrara marbled with great hot water and pressure in the shower.

We had a great sleep, followed by a very nice breakfast in a superb salon with incredible artworks.

There's also a really nice courtyard which looks like a great suntrap in the right weather, adjoined by a Taittinger Champagne Bar, very nice. We would have liked to sample their hospitality!
The staff were extremely attentive and the location wonderful for exploring the heart of Pamplona.

Definitely recommend as a great place to be in the thick of old Pamplona.

Room Tip: Our room faced into the courtyard and was extremely quiet. No bath in our standard room, so if this matters to you, perhaps go for the next level up.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iliketofly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The location is right in the center of Pamplona and the hotel itself is beautiful. The beds, linens and amenities are quite nice. The staff is extremely attentive and helpful with suggestions. We had a deluxe room but the standard rooms are equally appointed - just no bathtub. Very quiet during our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jltho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My son and I have just returned from a week-end in Pamplona enjoying not only the Bull Run but also the start of a week-long festival.

A new experience for us, the hotel made several suggestions that really made a difference and made all the arrangements before we had even arrived. They advised us on where to be positioned for the run itself; organised two really good seats to the bull fight in the evening (a sold out affair) and a balcony from which to watch the bull run on the next day - these are highly sought after and location is all important. Ours was great.

The hotels is also ideally located for the various processions that take place, one where the locals parade with huge giant size puppets and sing to the local saint of which an effigy is carried through the street with great pomp and ceremony. This culminated with various songs almost opposite the hotel which we could see from the hotel balconies.

The restaurant was excellent (we recommend the taster menu - despite ordering from a Spanish menu and not knowing what to expect, each course was delicious). The wines were good - follow their advice as they are knowledgeable and do not try to sell you the most expensive (they were all reasonably priced). Service was excellent too.

We were fortunate to be upgraded and had a lovely room. The standards throughout the hotel were outstanding.

As others have commented, the staff were great. Although English was not widely spoken, nothing was too much trouble and we managed to communicate. Taxis to the airport came within minutes. Although everyone is dressed in white and red looking somewhat alike, we were recognised by various memebers of staff and greeted as we came and went. We were made to feel very welcome.

The courtyard offered some tranquillity from the bustle and pandemonium outside and is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: we were upgraded to a suite (206) which was lovely and quiet.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmontanaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I stayed 1 night on a brief visit to Pamplona in May. Quite a grand hotel with ornate features, large sweeping staircase and huge chandeliers. Big room with large bathroom. English TV channels. There are a number of vintage motorcars in the courtyard. Quiet courtyard at the back - great for afternoon sun. It is in a good location for visiting the old town. Nice staff. Breakfast cooked to order.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheznelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews