We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great comfort, great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Castillo Gorraiz Hotel Golf & Spa
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Pamplona
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great comfort, great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

While not the hotel you'd choose for a city break, as it's a drive/cab journey from the city centre, this very comfortable hotel in the suburb of Gorraiz is ideal for getting out to explore the countryside around Pamplona (it also does golf, apparently).

Rooms were large, clean, well-furnished and comfortable. A small but important point: lots of accessible power points (essential with phones, laptops, iPads etc to charge). Wifi was strong, even in my room.

The food in the restaurant was good - if on the expensive side, but as you're so far out of the city really it's the most convenient option. Breakfast was excellent.

Staff are helpful, polite and most seemed to be multi-lingual... Almost all spoke at least some English as well as Spanish.

As a hotel for a work trip, you know it's good when your companion can't believe it's within the (admittedly not generous) company budget. But the Castillo was. That makes it more than just a good hotel: it also makes it a good-value hotel.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank TallSimonWeir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CASTILLODEGORRAIZ, Director General at Castillo Gorraiz Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Mr. Simon,

Thank you very much for your comments. We keep at your disposal for any thing you might need for your next reservation in Gorraiz. I also inform you that we have some very interesting new packages for july and august. Do not hesitate to contact us for any information.

Sincerely yours,

Gorka Berraondo
General Manager Castillo de Gorraiz Hotel Golf&Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    572
    162
    19
    5
    3
See reviews for
92
456
14
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pyrenees Atlantique
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Had one night at the hotel this weekend just gone, staff could not have been more friendly and helpful, not just hotel staff but SPA and treatment staff too. If you want to relax and chill and maybe have a game of golf then you have it all here, plus it is only a short drive into Pamplona and car parking at the hotel is free. We will definitely go back but next time for two nights!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane64190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Level Contributor
166 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

Expected much more based on glowing reviews. Hotel is remote...nothing nearby. No store/gift shop. Restaurant is fair. Service perfunctory. Rooms small...our carpet was dirty/not vacuumed. Shower has the most slippery floor surface I have ever experienced. One hook in bathroom and no towel rack outside the shower available for use. Where would they suggest you put your wet towels? Weird toiletries...plastic pouches.

We had three golfers in our group...(not me) they were not interested in the golf course. No mature trees, wide open...didn't impress them. Didn't check out the spa facilities. We will stay in Pamplona next time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J&S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villars-sur-Ollon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We chose this hotel due to my wife's previous experience at the hotel. After a planned drive of 600 kms we decided to book this hotel. We initially booked a separate suite as we have 2 kids. Initially we were told to arrive AFTER 16:30 as it was January 1st and they would have loads of work, which is we didn't mind and... fair enough. Upon arrival we were told that, as it was January 1st, they didn't have time to prepare our room (put the kids' bed in the room) and at the time of our arrival (21:45), it would not be possible. We were put in a lower tier room in the main building and the price was adjusted accordingly because it would be the only way of having the beds put in place. Once we got ourselves installed, we wanted to grab a quick room service bite. The hotel does not have room service and the restaurant closes at 22:00. They were kind enough to make us a few sandwiches with crisps which did fine.

The hotel looks great. It has some great details of architecture and design. The reading lounge is stunning and it's just a great place to spend time in.

Mind you, when we asked to boil water to have the milk done for our little one, not only we had to call twice because they forgot, they charged us 5€ for that service.

All in all, I would not go back to the hotel because the experience was not great; however, the place is great, it has a Spa we did not try and I am of the opinion that if you're a couple, you'll absolutely fall in love with it. It's just that when you have kids, you are wary of the services as a whole.

Did not feel 5* — more like 3,5*

Room Tip: Go for a castle suite if you can!! They're ought to be fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fcastrosantos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

This was a great experience. The hotel was very nice and it has wonderful views and facilities. The people of the hotel was extremely nice and made our stay very comfortable. We spent three days there and it seemed short, next time we'll spend more time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raimundo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night while travelling on business. Sadly I didn't have enough time to make use of all the facilities at the hotel however this didn't stop it making a fantastic impression.
The hotel has a beautiful setting up on the hillside overlooking Pamplona. The exterior and interior are both very impressive. I arrived late in the evening but was given a warm welcome at reception.
The restaurant has gorgeous views and the food matches it well. Service was excellent and the extensive drinks menu makes me want to return just for the g&ts!
Room was an excellent size and extremely comfortable bed.
Only wished I could have stayed longer to really make the most of the hotel. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emcka0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

It is an amazing place to relax and disconnect from the city. I stayed for 3 nights in the Hotel which is just 10 minutes driving from Pamplona, famous city because of the running of the bulls.It was an amazing and a beautiful hotel, very modern and the staff was lovely. I treated myself going to the spa for a full body massage and I really enjoyed it. The girls were unbelievable, very polite with the guests and professionals. It is the perfect spa to relax yourself and feel fresh. If I can, I'll come back again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asesb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pamplona hotels
2.3 mi away
Alma Pamplona Muga de Beloso
3.2 mi away
Gran Hotel La Perla
Gran Hotel La Perla
#3 of 37 in Pamplona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
4.3 mi away
NH Pamplona Iruna Park
NH Pamplona Iruna Park
#4 of 37 in Pamplona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Maisonnave Hotel
Maisonnave Hotel
#6 of 37 in Pamplona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Zenit Pamplona
Hotel Zenit Pamplona
#8 of 37 in Pamplona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
3.3 mi away
Pamplona Catedral Hotel
Pamplona Catedral Hotel
#7 of 37 in Pamplona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castillo Gorraiz Hotel Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castillo Gorraiz Hotel Golf & Spa

Property: Castillo Gorraiz Hotel Golf & Spa
Address: Avenida Egues 78, 31620, Pamplona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Navarra > Pamplona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Pamplona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Castillo Gorraiz Hotel Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castillo Gorraiz Hotel Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing