We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”
Review of La Pequena Taberna

La Pequena Taberna
Ranked #18 of 981 Restaurants in Murcia
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed June 29, 2018

All the reviews are spot on. We had a drink before deciding where to eat. We agreed this looked good, so booked a table for 8.30 that evening. So glad we did. As people have said, service was friendly and professional. 2 had fish, cooked perfectly. 1 filet steak, 1 goat/kid chops. Good red wine.
The glasses of gin tonic at the end of the meal just lovely.
Well done all, I can’t recommend this place enough!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank lmj52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,412)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 1,413 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2018 via mobile

This restaurant is tucked away in the corner of a nondescript street, but is definitely worth finding. Both the food and service were excellent. When we arrived it was almost empty, but the Taberna was full when we left and the service was just as attentive. You could tell that they have a regular clientele, since both the owner and the wait staff greeted and were greeted by numerous guests.
Our gazpacho starter was perfect, and the lamb chops were excellent as well. Living in Spain, we are used to a chupito, or complementary liqueur after the meal, but our waiter brought us out two enormous gin tonics embedded in a huge bowl of ice. We definitely would return again

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank MisterValencia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2018 via mobile

How do you make people read a review on Trip Advisor ? I would really like this one to be read so you go to this wonderful piece of Spain. In the labyrinth of streets in Murcia take the effort to find the Little Tavern. Not that small infact and just as good as the surroundings are uninteresting: a wall or a parking lot are the views. So turn your eyes towards the charming woodcovered interior with details of azulejos. Here and there are bins or baskets filled with lemons, red peppers, potatoes etc which gives atmosphere. All details are top notch, the wine racks, the white marble counter, even the computer screen blends in. Toilets are high end with copper basins. Waiters are well dressed, attentive and cheerful. Clients are from offices or are groups of friends. People came late for lunch, we arrived at 13.30 and were first. Started with fried squid, then lamb chops and grilled vegetables. Dessert was Tocino del Cielo and it was heavenly. The wine suggested by the glass was very tasty. Coffee perfect. And as a freebee a Gin Tonic to digest better. Maybe it works.
At least we felt very very content when leaving. Go and enjoy!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank larsl879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2018 via mobile

Dinner for two at 21:00 on a Sunday. We were hungry at opening hour (20:00) but the staff recommended waiting an hour for things to get in full swing, and it was definitely hopping by then!

Pulpo al horno (octopus) and tiramisu were fantastic. Noticeably attentive / high-touch service for an establishment of this sort in Spain.

I would certainly eat here again if I lived in town but would not visit twice while staying in the city on holiday. There are just too many other places to try!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank dchostler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2018

My wife and I arrived late, after 23.00, and the restaurant was no longer serving at the tables, however one of the bar keepers set up a special table for us at the bar, and we were allowed to order. We were offered several tasty complimentary starters, then followed up with fresh local grilled asparagus. For the main course, we were served huge meat chops with fresh potatoes. We tried both a local beer and the house red wine, which was also excellent. Delicious food served in a very friendly and cosy atmosphere. Absolutely worth going back for more. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank toreiraq06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Pequena Taberna also viewed

Murcia, Region of Murcia
Murcia, Region of Murcia
 
Murcia, Region of Murcia
Murcia, Region of Murcia
 
Murcia, Region of Murcia
Murcia, Region of Murcia
 

Been to La Pequena Taberna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing