We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food Excellent Service.”

El Continental Bistro
Ranked #58 of 966 Restaurants in Murcia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $24
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: El Continental Bistró se encuentra en el centro de la ciudad de Murcia, a escasos metros de la Catedral. El Bistró, inaugurado el día 26 de octubre de 2012, debe su nombre al mítico Café Continental, abierto de 1983 a 1997. Este local formo parte de la vida cultural de la ciudad de Murcia en una época irrepetible en la que pintores, escultores, actores, toreros, músicos, periodistas, políticos y gente de todo tipo encontraron un lugar de encuentro. El Continental Bistró recoge en un mismo espacio el gusto por la buena gastronomía y por el arte, ya que el restaurante cuenta con una cuidada selección de pintura de artistas modernos y contemporaneos. Las obras de Ramón Gaya, Ramón Pontones, Pepe Lucas, Rosa Martínez Artero, Willy Ramos, Vicente Viudes, Ángel Haro, Pedro Cano, Sofía Morales, Manolo Barnuevo, Esteban Linares, Ramón Garza, Miguel Fructuoso, Carlos Pardo, Martínez Mengual, Enrique Santana o Parraga entre otros, acompañaan al comensal en un ambiente familiar y relajado, una experiencia para los sentidos.
Reviewed January 29, 2016

The atmosphere was good from the moment we arrived.
Quiet background music .... interesting artwork displayed on the walls ..................... and the kind , professional and extremely efficient service from Sophia.

The €14 Menu del Dia had good choices and proved very tasty.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Colin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emilio1959, Gerente at El Continental Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2016
Google Translation

Gracias. Gracias, hasta siempre.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 121 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2015 via mobile

Visited here and because of the reviews on TripAdvisor we were really looking forward to the evening. When we entered the restaurant all we could smell was disinfectant. This overpowering smell stayed with us all night and put us off our food!! We normally have a 3 course meal but could only manage 2 courses. My husbands starter of leek pudding was so tasteless and he only ate half of it, although my empanadas were very nice even though they were small. Our main courses of lamb and pork were fine. The bottle of red wine was good and reasonably priced. Such a shame as this could and should be much better.

Thank Anne470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emilio1959, Propietario at El Continental Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2015
Google Translation

Lamentamos la mala impresión que le causó su visita a nuestro Bistró, sobre todo por el olor a desinfección, en realidad fue un pequeño accidente con una botella de lejía, pero tiene toda la razón, obviamente no utilizamos ambientadores en ningún rincón del Bistró. Sentimos lo ocurrido ese día. El tamaño de la empanadilla (1'50 €) es ciertamente pequeño, posiblemente deberíamos haberle aconsejado tomar dos o tres, pero no nos parece correcto corregir a nuestros clientes a la hora de pedir el Menú. Nuevamente le pido disculpas por no haber estado a la altura que hubiéramos deseado. Esperamos poder complacerles en una próxima visita.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2015 via mobile

Very tasty food, very kind service and pleasant atmosphere! Highly recommended! Would try to come back once

Thank Ilya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emilio1959, Propietario at El Continental Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2015
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por vuestro comentario. Esperamos veros pronto.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2015

we ate here two evenings and the staff were delightful. Luckily the daughter, Sophia spoke a little English. There was a good choice of meals and the food was excellent besides being good value for money. Such a friendly place. The air conditioning was welcome after such a hot humid day.
This restaurant is well worth a visi and far superior to those that offer a meal of the day for a set price.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Spannipammi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2015

My and my wife searched this restaurant out because it was relativity near or hotel (ZENIT) and the Trip Advisor reviews.We arrived without booking at about 10:30pm and asked for a table for 2.Without any fuss they rearranged two tables and quickly gave us a menu and took the drinks order.
It quickly became apparent that they didn't speak much English and we only spoke a little Spanish.The daughter of the owner was lovely and did her best to make us understand but the menu was in Spanish.She suggested the starters of Empanadas , Croquettes & Chorizos Criollos served with bread olives and dips,
We then were asked if we wanted Paella I suggested a mixed Paella this was agreed on.It was cooked while we waited and the owner brought it out to show us and said it would be 10 more minutes.
Wow when it arrived it was gorgeous we both had two plates and had to skip desserts.The meal was rounded of with coffee and then two bottles of ABADÍA DA COVA were left at the table,
Pint & Half of lager , Starters , Mains , Bottle of wine, Coffee & Four glasses of liquor came to 48 euros.The service from start to finish was exceptional and we thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience,
Give this restaurant a visit if your in Murcia you wont be disappointed .

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank aircraftman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Continental Bistro also viewed

Murcia, Region of Murcia
Murcia, Region of Murcia
 
Murcia, Region of Murcia
 
Murcia, Region of Murcia
Murcia, Region of Murcia
 

Been to El Continental Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing