We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired room but not the restaurant or bar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tryp Hotel Rincon de Pepe
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Murcia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We booked a junior suite and got a reasonable large room with a sunny terrace - don't expect a view though!! The bed was very comfortable but the bathroom needed upgrading - signs of missing sealant and mould here and there are not so good. The soundproofing is pretty poor also.
That out of the way everything else about the hotel was excellent. Reception staff were very helpful and there is free wi-fi. When we arrived our room wasn't ready but instead of just asking us to wait, they sent us to the bar for complimentary beer and tapas.
The hotel is very close to the Cathedral and lots of wonderful bars and restaurants. However the hotel's own restaurant is excellent if a bit above the price levels of surrounding establishments. The hotel's modern tapas bar is a must if you're in Murcia. We asked for a selection of local tapas and got the most wonderful selection of food (on a par with La Taberna del Gourmet in Alicante - and if you haven't been there, make the trip if you love food).
With food like this and wondeful staff you can forgive the odd problem with the room.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cakes57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio M, Gerente at Tryp Hotel Rincon de Pepe, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

We intend to facilitate and make a pleasant stay to our customers. We take the opportunity to have one of the best restaurant in Murcia for the enjoyment of people who stay with us. Thank you very much for your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (678)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

88 - 94 of 678 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2014

Says it in the title really, the hotel is old and tired with signs of wear and tear all over but can't fault it for being clean and tidy.

Staff were polite and reasonably friendly, nothing to fault them on.

Breakfast was good with a fair selection of fresh and good quality products.

It is in a very central location.

The rooms are basic, although a lacked enough good pillows.

Would I come back? Probably not due to the dated nature.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank lastnightadj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio M, Gerente at Tryp Hotel Rincon de Pepe, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Every comment we receive is invaluable for us and I would like to tell you that all the reviews are considered and studyed by our Guest Experience and Operations department.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Not a spectacular hotel, just good value for money. Friendly and helpfull staff at reception. Normal to small size rooms with paper thin walls, you can hear your neighbour snore. But the rooms and bath rooms are very clean.
A pity that you have to pay for the hotel's own car park. I can understand that you make visitors to the hotel's casino pay, but not already paying hotel guests.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
Thank H D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio M, Gerente at Tryp Hotel Rincon de Pepe, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Thank you very much for your feedback, parking in town centers in Spain are pay normally, ours has a symbolic price compared to other garajes. Hope to see you son.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Well located and very good value for money. Good size room, toiletries and complimetary water provided. Very helpful front desk. Bar restaurant around the corner was also good and not expensive. Easy walking to the centre

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio M, Gerente at Tryp Hotel Rincon de Pepe, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por sus comentarios, encantados de haber colaborado en hacer su estancia en la ciudad de Murcia agradable. Le esperamos de nuevo pronto.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

For business, I have stayed at this hotel several times. I have been to others in Murcia, but now I insist that my client put me up here.
The location is perfect. You are in the middle of the city and can walk to everything. The front desk is exceptionally helpful, quick to respond, always available. Congratulations to the boss for training well her/his staff.
My favorite thing to do is to go to the tapas restaurant (not the formal one, but the smaller, more informal one), sit at the counter and just spend the evening enjoying the tapas and red wine. Even if you don't speak Spanish, they'll take care of you. The waiters are friendly, warm and make you fell at home. And at breakfast, you have all you need with all the Spanish specialties.
The rooms are comfortable. It is an older building, which is part of the charm, but sound-proofing can be a little drawback.
Again my number one choice in Murcia.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio M, Gerente at Tryp Hotel Rincon de Pepe, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Thank you for your excellent rating, On behalf of our entire TRYPers team, I want to thank you for the nice words that you told us about your stay in TRYP Murcia Rincón de Pepe. These comments encourage us to continue carrying out our daily work and provide our passionate travelers visiting the city, unforgettable experiences. I will share your opinion with all our TRYPers. We love to hear that you enjoyed the city, our tapas bar, wine, etc., I would like to see you with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

This superb, modern hotel is in the heart of Murcia and a truly lovely place to stay! It is situated around 200 metres from the Cathedral and is close to lots of interesting architecture which is within very easy walking distance!...The staff were friendly and efficient although their English was limited..However, this definitely didn't pose any problems during our stay! Our room was on the 5th floor and was spacious and spotlessly clean...The bathroom was quite large with a bath/shower, bidet, toilet and handbasin...A hairdryer and magnifying mirror were also very useful items! The beds were very comfortable and, although this is a city centre hotel, I didn't hear a sound from outdoors all night!...You can, however, hear people moving around and talking in adjacent rooms which wasn't a problem to us at all, as the occupants were very considerate but, I suspect, if anyone was moving around noisely, either overhead or on either side, that it could be problematic! I would have to dig deep for any adverse comments but, if I had to make any criticism it would be that there are no safe facilities in the bedroom and that the lifts are very small...Hardly problems!..Although we didn't eat dinner in the restaurant, the breakfast was well presented and and the selection was first class!...Fruit, cold meats, cheeses, yogurts, cereal and a cooked option were all available and served in a light, airy & relaxing restaurant...A perfect start to the day!...I would have no hesitation in recommending the Rincon De Pepe for your stay in Murcia and will definitely return again, hopefully, not in the too distant future!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio M, Gerente at Tryp Hotel Rincon de Pepe, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

I would like to start off thanking you for your nice words! We really like to take advantage of these opportunities to greet you once again and thank you for keeping counting on us. all staff is being learning to expand their knowledge of English, sure on your next stay with us our communication will be much more fluid.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This is a nice hotel very near the center of old town, the rooms are pleasantly set out and the staff are very helpful and friendly. It has a cool Bar in the basement well worth a view and a Casino attached to the Hotel.
The hotel provides a great base for wondering around the historic city. The hotel has an underground car park and the rooms were reasonably priced considering it was near high season.
Nothing much was wrong but we did book a suite and only found out the next day that the door to the sitting room was locked.
We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Upper floors, 4 pillows and make sure the suite lounge room is unlocked. Car park is around the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgecassidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Murcia hotels
0.7 mi away
Nelva Hotel
Nelva Hotel
#1 of 28 in Murcia
965 reviews
0.2 mi away
Occidental Murcia Siete Coronas
0.3 mi away
Catalonia Conde de Floridablanca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
NH Amistad Murcia
NH Amistad Murcia
#5 of 28 in Murcia
884 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cetina
Hotel Cetina
#3 of 28 in Murcia
206 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Murcia Centro
NH Murcia Centro
#12 of 28 in Murcia
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp Hotel Rincon de Pepe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Hotel Rincon de Pepe

Address: Plaza Apostoles 34, 30001 Murcia, Spain (Formerly NH Rincón de Pepe)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Region of Murcia > Murcia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Murcia
#3 Business Hotel in Murcia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Murcia
Price Range: $72 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryp Hotel Rincon de Pepe 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six-story Hotel situated in city center, within a short walk from cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tryp Hotel Rincon de Pepe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Murcia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing