We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very expensive but good tennis” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Manga Club

La Manga Club
Ranked #10 of 74 things to do in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very expensive but good tennis”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is probably one of the most expensive tennis centres in Europe. For two adults & two children playing in the academy the cost is €1500. A 45 minute tennis lesson is €55. To enter a tournament is €25 each.

The coaches are fantastic and the programme brilliant but there are no discounts for returning guests or top rated players. The tie break bar at the club is also expensive to eat.

Lamanga is a great place for a holiday but very expensive

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Jojobish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    72
    17
    7
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Brilliant facilities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Great place to go to un wind and play some tennis with the locals.
And you may see a couple of celebrities if you are lucky.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Humanplay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding tennis coach!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

I hired a English coach for one to one lessons , for my teenage children and have done each time we have stayed at la manga , only because they understands them better , but all the coaches are top notch , would recommend early lessons in season as gets far to hot past 12!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Salllyanne3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place to holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

I have read the other reviews and I do not feel they give the whole picture of what La Manga is really like. We are a group of girls who have been to La Manga many times. We tend to go just out of high season May or September and weather is perfect for playing tennis. We rent a middle range property if there is just four of us and it costs us pennies and very nice with huge balcony. Lovely pools. Los Olivos is best as very convenient. Tennis coaching is second to none and they hit the button as it is still fun also. All the coaches are a delight and manners impeccable! We truly enjoy our escape once a year and always feel our tennis and confidence on court has improved by the end of 1 week course. La Manga is a very pretty place with lots of privately owned properties. It never will be the liveliest place at night but hey... that is fine by me. they are building a Champagne bar and 1 other new super duper bar also as well as Mulligans which is already there and a few others which are great fun and we always meet sporting and fun people every year. You must try!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Lorraine187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great for tennis”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

I went for the 5-day tennis academy in June, and the teaching was excellent. The right mix between pushing us and having a laugh. I was in a group of five so there was time for individual attention and at 50 euros for two hours, good value. Stayed at Los Lomos in a townhouse, which was great. Only downside are the restaurants on site. All pretty old-fashioned and a bit like eating in a provincial golf club. There's a good Spanish supermarket though. It's also pretty quiet in bars etc outside July and August.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate-Adie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Manga Club also viewed

Cartagena, Region of Murcia
Cartagena, Region of Murcia
 
Cartagena, Region of Murcia
Cartagena, Region of Murcia
 

Been to La Manga Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing