We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location close to waterfront`”
Review of NH Cartagena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
NH Cartagena
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location close to waterfront`”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed at the NH Cartegena for 10 days in September. We wanted a hotel that was central to the waterfront and tourist attractions in the Port area and could not have found a better location.

We had a suite on the fifth floor - the rooms were small, but led out onto a large sunny terrace with great views across the harbour. (There was a high step from the room out onto the terrace, which could make it unsuitable for guests with mobility problems.) We spent a lot of time sitting on the terrace - so sun loungers would have been nice!

The rooms were adequately furnished, although a bit 'tired'. The bed was comfortable and the bedlinen was good quality and changed regularly throughout our stay. Towels and bathrobes were also of good quality and changed as required.

The only negative we found was the low water pressure, which meant that it took almost half an hour to run a bath!

We did not have breakfast at the hotel (preferring to have coffee and pastries at a nearby cafe). There are many cafes and tapas bars in the area around the hotel, although on the whole we were disappointed with the quality of the food and choice available.

We had a lovely relaxing stay in Cartegena and the hotel suited us well. Our stay coincided with the annual 'Romans and Cartheginians' Festival, which was both interesting and good fun.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    429
    118
    22
    8
See reviews for
146
438
25
195
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denia, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is the location as the views from the terrace were excellent as they overlooked the port. The hotel dining room is closed at weekends which was a disappointment as we could not find a restaurant that served a decent dinner as most of them were serving tapas. The tables in the breakfast room were very close together and the breakfast itself was not very good. We ordered eggs, bacon and sausage the first morning and wished we hadn't as we could not eat it as it smelt strongly of rancid oil and the bacon was overcooked. Considering the price we paid for a premium room, this was very small and we had difficulty getting around the bed. There was also a very high step (measuring about 36 cms high) up to the terrace and as we are 75 years old we had to be very careful. If you wanted Wifi you had to pay a daily rate. The basement garage was entered by a very small lift and it was very difficult to park (I have an estate car) and as there was only one space left on the floor I chose, I ended up with a nasty scratch down the side of my car as I tried to turn round to reverse into the space. We did not find the staff very friendly and the bathroom was certainly not cleaned properly as there was dirt behind the door. I would also like to point out that although there were two of us, there was only one pair of slippers and one dressing gown supplied. Cartagena, however, is a lovely place to visit, especially the castle with its lovely views and if we ever want to visit it again we will certainly be looking for a better hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms on the fifth floor as the ones with a terrace overlooking the port but ours was very narro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mayflower97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We were meeting friends from a cruise ship and so the location of this hotel was perfect for us. It is a long time since I have been to Cartegena and I must say it is a beautiful city full of history. The NH hotel was modern, clean and comfortable but I have to say without being very welcoming or having much ambiance. I am not sure that Spanish hotels have yet grasped how important that first welcome is at the reception desk. Our first encounter was with a dour but efficient man. A smile would not have gone amiss. However, our second encounter was with a very pleasant young lady. I didn't find the car park as difficult as others. You go in and out via a lift and it is a little tight to manoeuvre but not too bad. As others have said the Wi-Fi kept dropping in and out. We took the free version but I think there was a paid version that was supposed to work better. However, I consider the days of having to pay for decent Wi-Fi in a hotel are over. Nearly every hotel of any consequence is offering free, good-quality Wi-Fi. It is a factor that could tip the balance between choosing this hotel and another nearby.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bibsandbobs4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2013

A weekend away at this hotel which is very clean and simple. We had a suite on the fifth floor
with a terrace which over looked the port. We were surprised that the hotel had no dinning facilities and the WiFi wasn't very good as you had to keep putting the pass-code in each time you went back to the room. The car park is very small and you have to go down and than up in a lift which is a bit scary.

However, the hotel is in an amazing position and well placed for everything that you may wish to see, eat or shop and the staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: Have a suite if you can afford it or a side room. You can see people showing from the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank masterjourneyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The location of this hotel can´t be beat. It is located close to the harbor, food and shopping. Our room was average size and faced out to the habor. We were on the lower part of the hotel so I would imagine the sea view rooms are much higher. The facilities along with the decor are modern. Great a/c! The service was friendly. We did not take up the breakfast and ate instead at one of the local cafes. It was quiet and we could not hear other people who were staying in the rooms around us or any outside noise.

Cartagena is a nice city to visit for the day but do be sure to take a day trip to the Mar Menor area. It is easy to get a bus from the bus station. Be aware if you do go to the Mar Menor buses may drop you off in non-posted bus stops so you need to remember where they drop you off to get your return one. We went to Playa Honda which was very nice.

Bus and train station in Cartagena is about a 20-30 min walk (depending how fast or slow you walk) from the hotel.

The location of the hotel to all the attractions is worth the distance to walk to the train or bus station if you are taking public transport. You won´t be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frijolitauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is a good value hotel for a quick stop in Cartagena. We arrived via Murcia airport and only wanted to stay for one night.
If you are looking for car hire we would suggest you use Centauro car hire as the others have huge queues which take forever. They have a hire office in the main baggage claim area alongside all the other well known names. We also got a brand new car so were pretty pleased with the service and car.
To be honest one half day and one evening is plenty in Cartagena. There are some great Tapas bars (Av Colon) full of locals and a wonderful roman amphitheatre and this also leaves you time for a nice stroll around the harbour.
The hotel is clean and well positioned and you have access to a car park under the hotel. The car park lift alone is worth the visit if you are feeling adventurous ( you have to pay extra for parking).
Good location for a short-stop over before you move on.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miss_UnderstoodHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
1,788 reviews
191 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 739 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Hotel us in great location - walking distance from historic sites. It is really a 'business persons' hotel but offers reduced rates ( and facilities- restaurant not open for dinner) at week ends!! I will return and look out for other hotels in the group on my travels.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulsmithcasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
1.1 mi away
NH Campo Cartagena
NH Campo Cartagena
#2 of 12 in Cartagena
594 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cartagonova
Hotel Cartagonova
#3 of 12 in Cartagena
276 reviews
0.5 mi away
Los Habaneros
Los Habaneros
#4 of 12 in Cartagena
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Carlos III Sercotel
Carlos III Sercotel
#5 of 12 in Cartagena
223 reviews
12.8 mi away
El Secreto del Agua
El Secreto del Agua
#7 of 12 in Cartagena
67 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sercotel Alfonso XIII
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Cartagena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Cartagena

Property: NH Cartagena
Address: Real 2. Plza. Heroes de Cavite | Ensanche, San Gines, 30201 Cartagena, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Region of Murcia > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Cartagena 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Cartagena hotel is a modern 4-star hotel located in the heart of Cartagena's midtown commercial and business district, adjacent to the city hall just on the historical city center. Its excellent location is ideal for enjoying all that this beautiful, personable city has to offer. The hotel offers too an excellent gastronomic experience on CIBUS gastrobar. seasonal and amazing recepits ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your NH Cartagena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing