We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good 3* hotel in Cartagena”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carlos III Sercotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Ploiesti, Prahova, Romania
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good 3* hotel in Cartagena”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I spent only one night in this hotel, for bussiness purposes. This was my second time in this hotel, the first time was in 2010 (I think), for one night as well.
About the hotel: Good central location. Good value for money. Rooms were clean and tidy, providing space enough. Breakfast was more than decent, alhough a little expensive for 11 EUR. Internet access (free) was good.
What I want to emphasise is the hotel's staff, I rarely met so kind and helpful people. Late in the night I was informed that I needed to legalise some documents. I asked the receptionist for guidance and he (sorry, I forgot his name) provided me a lot of info, including a printed list of notarys in the town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Armand N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Carlos G, General Manager at Carlos III Sercotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear client,
Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to speak about us.
I attach great importance to your comments, and I shall gladly pass them on to our team.
We hope to see you back soon a third time.
My very best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    121
    49
    8
    2
See reviews for
51
87
12
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Location
Although a 25 minute walk to the port (where you can get a taxi to the local beach for 5 euros or cycle or even walk if you are brave), it is less than ten minutes to the main shopping street. Which takes you down to the port.

It is also 3 minutes walk from a couple of tapas bars/restaurants that were highly recommended online. I visited them and do really recommend el pincho de castillo best bar tapas I've had, andthe restaurant menu out the back also delicious. Not to be confused with the small bar opposite which is nice for some drinks and lively at the weekend. The other one near by recommended was called last raclette but unfortunately we couldn't try the restaurant menu as they weren't serving. The tapas was nice although (although not at fancy or as muchchoice as el pincho)

So overall location worked out.

The hotel was nice, only cost us 45 euros a night for a double room and free breakfast thrown in as they still had their check in at 4 square deal. So I'd say a bargain.

Only negative is tv was all dubbed in Spanish, and I was unwell for a few days so had nothing to occupy me (room service wasnt great either)

So as long as you stay well and don't want to watch t.v. you'll love it! Oh also no view from theroom because of how it's designed and air con wasn't working but we didn't need it this time of year. But overall it is very good and cheapest yet most modern looking one I found.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deena_egham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Carlos G, General Manager at Carlos III Sercotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear client,
Thank you very much indeed for your kind words!
Your opinion is a very important thing for us, because we can improve more and more.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our city and of course in our hotel.
We hope to see you again, thankyou for your time.
Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

A surprisingly spacious hotel. Lovely bright decor. Easy enough to find. Good central location. Excellent value for money. The only thing to take into account is the fact that you have pay for parking. It was €13 per night to park in the car park below the hotel. This was however much cheaper than th public 24 hr car park that was €18!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClareRiach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Carlos G, General Manager at Carlos III Sercotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear client, Thank you very much for your kind comments!
Your opinion is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Cartagena felt like its in the middle of being reinvented. There is a lot of decay in the city...facades being preserved with the backs of buildings crumbling and in ruins. The exciting part is that they seem to be doing a lot to preserve the beautiful old stuff. We visited the awesome park that they built on top of the roman ruins - it was really lovely. Modern and old mixed together so well. Harbour was really nice.

The hotel was in a good location. Easy to walk around the city from there. I laughed when I read the review by the person who said their husband thought he woke up in Iraq when he opened the curtains. That's a pretty accurate description of the view you get when you look out your window.

It don't let that stop you from staying here. The rooms were clean and big, furnished with Ikea decor, and clean. The staff was very eager to please and let us check out late. Breakfast was decent, and if you're lucky they'll still have the offer of free breakfast if you use Foursquare.

Internet access was good, although you had to keep logging in. Games room was ok with a couple of computers.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suewanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelalfonsoxiii, Director General at Carlos III Sercotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Your compliments of the Hotel Carlos III are greatly appreciated. We work diligently to offer the best service and a great stay for each guest.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking time to write this review. We look forward to your return.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

This hotel is well located in one of he main avenues in Cartagena. The room facilities looked a bit tired although everything was clean and functioned properly. The lift only worked from the first floor, which meant lugging cases up from the ground level. Parking a car in the hotel car park was very awkward, given the need to negotiate carefully the hotel pillars. The receptionists were helpful and friendly.Breakfast was pretty varied and fresh.

However, the town itself was a revelation!. The ancient quarter was very lively and the waterfront had a great promenade. The most outstanding part of our visit was a visit to the incredibly well-preserved Roman ampitheatre - a World Heritage site. Cartagena really surprised us by its sheer variety and we hope to go there again one day.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMV5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelalfonsoxiii, Director General at Carlos III Sercotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear guest:
Let me start by thanking you for your opinion about your recent stay at our property.
Your feedback is very much appreciated and I can assure you that my staff and I use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests.
We hope to see you again.
Thanks again and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

Very nice, modern decorated rooms. Quite location and in walking distance to all important places in Cartagena. Breakfast is excellent and not comparable to normal Spanish breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kagu-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelalfonsoxiii, Director General at Carlos III Sercotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Your compliments of the Hotel Carlos III are greatly appreciated. We work diligently to offer the best service and a great stay for each guest.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking time to write this review. We look forward to your return.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Efficient helpful, friendly staff. Clean, pleasant room, well-lighted, with functioning equipment. I, and spouse, liked use of large swathes bright, intense color in decoration. Used restaurant for late evg light meal, breakfast; good service food quite nice also, with good selection available. Convenient location for...

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Motaz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelalfonsoxiii, Director General at Carlos III Sercotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this nice review about your stay at Carlos III Hotel. We are very glad to hear such a nice words about our rooms, restaurant and helpful staff.

It will be a real pleasure for us to host you in our hotel again.

With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.5 mi away
NH Campo Cartagena
NH Campo Cartagena
#2 of 12 in Cartagena
597 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Cartagena
NH Cartagena
#1 of 12 in Cartagena
914 reviews
0.3 mi away
Los Habaneros
Los Habaneros
#4 of 12 in Cartagena
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cartagonova
Hotel Cartagonova
#3 of 12 in Cartagena
277 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Manolo
Hotel Manolo
#9 of 12 in Cartagena
146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sercotel Alfonso XIII
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlos III Sercotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlos III Sercotel

Property: Carlos III Sercotel
Address: Calle Carlos III 49, 30203 Cartagena, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Region of Murcia > Cartagena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Cartagena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlos III Sercotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sercotel Carlos III Hotel is a hotel in Cartagena recently renovated and located 500 meters from the railway station and bus station, close to the Marina; playing the historic and commercial center of this city of the province of Murcia. With a cheerful and colorful decor, the hotel in the center of Cartagena has 96 fully equipped rooms and is ideal for family holidays or business trips as it has meeting rooms. Among other services, have free access throughout the hotel, room games with PS3 and XBOX 360 free. We are bikefriendly hotel (bike rental, workshop area and wash guardabicis space, route information ...)Arranged gym. WIFI throughout the city (portable minirouter). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlos III Sercotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlos Iii Sercotel Hotel Cartagena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing