We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but not perfect”
Review of La Marquesita

La Marquesita
Ranked #4 of 378 Restaurants in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $70
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: LA MARQUESITA RESTAURANTE, Located in the central Plaza Alcolea , is a very familiar restaurant, where you can enjoy a homemade mediterranean cuisine, also modern and innovative, that is made with high quality ingredients.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Went there on a Saturday evening. Had a reservation, and where placed under a tent outside. That was ok, but the reservation said on the terrace. Turned out to be on the street, Close to a trafficked road. The Food was ok, but the sauces was too sweet. Like they were made for deserts. The cannelloni starter was ok, but the sauce was killing the duck liver taste inside it. The duck liver main was ok, but again the sweetness of the sauce ruined the taste of the duck. The wine was supposed to be the best in the restaurant, but I guess my taste for Spanish wine is not on top. To Heavy oaked. The oak killed the fruit of the wine. So overall ok. But would I go here again. ? Not if there were other Places, I would like to try.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank TravellingTrym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlosFAlmansa, Gerente at La Marquesita, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2014
Google Translation

Estimado cliente,
En primer lugar agradecerle el tiempo que ha empleado en hacer su comentario sobre nuestro restaurante. Pero me gustaria matizarle algunos puntos sobre su crítica.
Usted dice "bien pero no perfecto", bueno, no pretendemos ser perfectos pero si un buen restaurante y asi lo corrobora por ejemplo el haber sido recomendados por la Guia Michelin en los últimos 8 años.
Lo que usted llama carretera con trafico es una calle de la ciudad, pues somos un restaurante situado en el centro de la misma (junto a la centrica Plaza de España).
La salsa que lleva el pato con foie es dulce, si es usted es un buen gourmet (que asi lo creo) sabrá que el foie va muy bien con este tipo de salsas: el magret o confit de pato casan muy bien con este tipo de salsas dulces, salsa de albaricoque, de naranja, de cassis, de melocoton, de grosellas, de frutos del bosque, y todas ellas son salsas dulces. La nuestra, de balsámico, es tambien dulce, pero es muy buena y muy adecuada para el pato y el foie.
Sabrá tambien que el foie se suele acompañar de un vino dulce, tipo Sauternes, Tokaj, Oporto, Vino dulce del Campo de Cartagena, Vinos dulces tintos como el Olivares de Monastrell, o El Sequé dulce…pues es el dulce lo que mas acentua los buenos matices del foie y del foie con el pato (ya sea magret o confit de pato)
En cuanto al vino que usted dice que se suponia el mejor del restaurante pues la verdad no se de que vino habla pero le aseguro que tenemos muy buenos. Nos esforzamos por tener una carta de vinos pequeña pero muy pensada y tenemos fuera de carta siempre "vinos recomendados", seguro que usted no conoce los vinos españoles o quizas no entienda en general de vinos. La proxima vez pida consejo y le ofreceremos una salsa diferente y un buen vino español que le haran cambiar de idea.
Estaremos encantados de volver a atenderle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (583)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 86 of 583 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2014

We went for Christmas Day lunch and as always at La Marquesita it was superb. We have always had excellent meals here. Sometimes one eats outside in the covered area and it is perfectly acceptable for a top restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jojoCartegena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlosFAlmansa, Gerente at La Marquesita, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear customers,
Thank you for leaving such a great review here about our restaurant. We hope to remain your favorite restaurant always. Best regards. La Marquesita Restaurante

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Very nice atmosphere in a convenient location. Family run, with the owners cooking and serving. But do not let you to look down on it. It is stylish. Good quality cutlery and nice cloth. The food was excellent, strongly local (if to take into consideration the fact that about 80% of the tables were with local well to do, middle aged. Maybe a bit too much oil and too much deep fried, but this is the local cuisine. My wife had fried vegetables (they call it Tempura, but it is deep fried) and myself fried cabbage and meat rolls. This was followed by Sea Brim a la Plancha and an extraordinary Rabo de Torro (one of my favorite dishes; quite an expert on this !). Very good and exotic deserts. The wine was a good Rueda Rose.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nicolae I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlosFAlmansa, Gerente at La Marquesita, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear customers,
Thank you for leaving such a great review here about our restaurant. Hope to see you around here often. Best regards. La Marquesita Restaurante

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

I live beside the Mar Menor and having been to many restaurants in the area, this is by far the best restaurant. It's run by a Spanish family who excel in customer service-and speak English too for tourists. There's a good variety of meats and fish on offer, the wine is excellent-and if you have any food intolerances, they can rustle up a gluten free meal in a flash. I've visited many times and loved the food every time-they even arranged a special chocolate birthday cake when we booked a reservation to celebrate a friend's birthday. Recommended dishes are habas con huevos y jamon and Rabo de Buey - beautiful.

I also have to say it made me laugh when I seen that a certain family pub in Los Nietos was rated highly on this list-they do average English pub meals, not what I would call a top restaurant! This is pretty misleading for tourists who are visiting the area for the first time and want to try good Spanish food. I can only assume people have been 'encouraged' to post reviews; why someone would bother to go online to praise an average Sunday roast, I'm not too sure! Ignore these plebs and go to La Marquesita.

Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlosFAlmansa, Gerente at La Marquesita, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Dear Customer,
Thank you very much indeed. Such a good comment here in Trip Advisor about our restaurant.
Come back whenever you like. For us always will be a pleasure to see you again.
Best regards. La Marquesita Restaurante

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We delighted an excepcional food, specially fish and Caldero rice, with fish and garlic, very tipicall in Cartagena and Mar Menor. Excellent desserts

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank salibmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlosFAlmansa, Gerente at La Marquesita, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Dear Customer,
Thank you very much for your comments about us.
Come back whenever you want. For us will be a pleasure to see you again
Best regards. La Marquesita Restaurante

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Marquesita also viewed

Cartagena, Region of Murcia
Cartagena, Region of Murcia
 
Cartagena, Region of Murcia
Cartagena, Region of Murcia
 

Been to La Marquesita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing