We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, relaxing, clean ... a great getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Parador de Melilla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Parador de Melilla
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Melilla
Certificate of Excellence
Ifrane, Morocco
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Quiet, relaxing, clean ... a great getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is a very nice, quiet, and comfortable hotel. The view from the balcony on the 3rd floor is very nice and peaceful over the park. It is a reasonable walk down the hill to the shopping, restaurants, and tapas bars. It has free covered parking, which is very nice for the car--just be sure to set your brake. The room was very large, the bathroom was immaculate, and the minibar fridge has plenty of room to store some goodies from the grocery store. The free wifi seems to work throughout the hotel. The grounds were well-maintained and everything was very clean. The location is not bad, but it is not as convenient as the hotels at the bottom of the hill. I missed the turn into the hotel on the first time up the hill (it is more than 90 degrees to the right), but it is OK once you know where to turn. Overall, the Parador is a perfect place to relax and get away from it all. I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: There is a great place for awesome breakfast sandwiches and cafe con leche directly down the hill an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinnTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    58
    33
    4
    3
See reviews for
30
61
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is the second time I have stayed at the Parador de Melilla.

Both of my visits have been whilst staying on business related travel. My initial opinion of this hotel is that it was incredibly quiet on both occasions.

I did not manage to eat anything in the hotel due to my schedule so cannot comment on the food.

When I have waited around the bar area looking for a drink, the waiting staff seemed to be a little thin on the ground as it were. During this last stay I could wonder around the lounge and bar area and not see anyone at all. Really quiet and unusual for a large sized hotel.

The rooms I had on my two visits were both very clean and comfortable.

The first room I had did not have a balcony and had a very limited view to the outside. The room I had on my second visit was on the 5th floor and had a balcony with a fantasic view of the harbour and coastline looking over to the Moroccan border. This room would have been nice to have if I had been on holiday with my family.

The rooms have the usual TV, Mini Bar etc and the bathroom facilities are OK.

The air conditioning tended to warm the room rather than cool it.. It did not bother me too much though as I did not spend too much time in the room.

One point I would make is that when you are in the hotel there is nothing written in English, for example the menus that you can see. It is always embarassing when you have to try to ask what is the protocol or what does this or that mean or how does this work etc...

The hotel is in a good location towards the top of a steep hill. It is not too far to walk to the main shopping street or bars and restaurants.

On the whole though a good hotel with great views if you get a balcony room from the elevated hill top location and the staff that I encountered were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Get a Sea facing room with a balcony, and a Spanish phrase book to interpret the menu's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandman1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Around the world
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Here's our review, based on our 8B criteria

* Bed - very comfy.
* Bedroom - great size. The balcony had great views over to the hills and Morocco, as well as out to sea. It was great to sit in the sun and take it all in.
* Bathroom - very good size, with bath and toiletries - and bidet!
* Breakfast - good range of cold meats, cheese and fruit, as well as yoghurt and bread. Juice is fresh. Don't forget to ask for fresh eggs etc, there is a menu on the table offering this, which we nearly missed. Also, if you haven't tried churros before (fresh stick doughnuts that you coat in sugar), this is a good opportunity, especially if you are hoping to pile on a few pounds!
* Bar - small and functional, pleasant-surroundings but no atmosphere. Fine for an informal business meeting.
* Bods - all very friendly and helpful, advising us on what to do and providing towels for the pool with a smile. The only exception was a woman at breakfast who was quite grumpy throughout.
* Budget - we booked through a consolidating website and were very pleased with the rate.
* Back (i.e. would we return?) - Yes. The hotel is very well decorated and maintained, lots of wood and plenty of places to lounge about, inside or by the pool. Although it is a small distance out of the town centre (up a steep hill), it feels like a great refuge. If you're fit and have a map, you can easily walk it from the ferry in about 15-20 mins. You can eat and drink well in Melilla, and if curious you can while away half a day by taking a bus to the border and then another local bus to the town of Nador (12km). The town itself is unremarkable but you can sit in a cafe with unusual decoration that juts out into the sea and drink mint tea, as well as eat traditional food at the plentiful cafes. You can also take a taxi for both legs at low cost. There was a Western Union money changer almost as soon as you pass the border into Morocco.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NickAndPaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Manga del Mar Menor, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

old hotel on the top of a hill overlooking melilla - very clean - big rooms - great breakfast - 7 mins for airport in a taxi - 6€ - an easy walk to some great tapas bars - up hill on the way back!! I have stayed here over 20 times.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dearfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jersey
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2011

Staggeringly hot...so the reason to have booked this hotel with a pool was a good move. Especially as it is the only hotel with a pool in Melilla. Trouble was the formal notice pool side tells you it is not operational until June. Quite mad.

A real disapointment and we hope this review will help others to not fall in the same trap.

Management was very obvious by its abscence. Reaction by staff was that there is the beach...well they are not that clean and desirable.

Whole hotel appeared to be getting ready for the season - painting corridors, - filling pool...cutting hedges seemed to be more important than clients...

Breakfast was ok...

Room Tip: Check if pool is operational if you want to swim!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank razorfishsalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-England
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2009

This is not the best Parador we have stayed in but was perfectly clean and comfortable. Room had a little balcony with chairs and table with good views out towards the harbour. A/C was a bit temperamental, it seemed to need topping up each morning - the staff were aware of this and sure enough it was cooling well by the time we returned in late afternoon. Maybe a problem in high summer? (we were there October, weather was superb without roasting us). The food was not so good, but then we are veggies which is a problem at times even in mainland Spain, but our main complaint was staff's inability to properly boil a kettle for a cup of tea! This got so bad one morning that the waitress was positively avoiding us/avoiding having to boil water! Generally though the staff are very friendly and very helpful.
Melilla is not that well geared up for tourism, even though this is supposed to be a main source of income. There's a lack of cafes with outdoor seating where you can sit with a coffee and watch the world go by - the small square below the Parador and old city walls has a couple and La Pergola on the harbour front is a decent restaurant with a terrace. Restaurants are generally a little hard to find - we managed to get addresses but not a map with all of the street names on. The sights can all be seen in a day, the old walled city was our favourite. The city is a little scruffy but there's lots of building work (looks like restoration work) going on. We seemed to be the only non-Spanish tourists there, so did feel a little bit special! Worth a visit but don't expect lots to do. The beach has good facilities but sea faces ports on both sides - Spanish one way Moroccan the other.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fromliverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2009

Ok, so Parador pride themselves on finding an unusual old building and converting it to an interesting and unique hotel. Not this one, a modern four square low rise hotel with all the usual facilities.

That said, the location was superb, high on a hill overlooking the town and port, within 10 minutes walking distance of the town centre. Clean, large rooms with a balcony. airconditioning and ensuite. Tv with some english channels. Restaurant if you need it (we didn't use it), good pool and car park. Exellent base for exploring this city. We got a deal with one of the many travel search websites and paid around £48 per night for the room only. Rack rates would be significantly more.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HtDMtD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melilla
0.5 mi away
Tryp Melilla Puerto Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rusadir
Hotel Rusadir
#3 of 4 in Melilla
3.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anfora
Anfora
#4 of 4 in Melilla
3.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Mercure Rif Nador
Mercure Rif Nador
#1 of 4 in Nador
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
9.3 mi away
Riad Dar Nador
Riad Dar Nador
#2 of 4 in Nador
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hotel Babel
Hotel Babel
#3 of 4 in Nador
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Melilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Melilla

Property: Parador de Melilla
Address: Avenida Candido Lobera sn, 52001 Melilla, Spain
Location: Spain > Melilla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Melilla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Parador de Melilla 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parador de Melilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing