We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for vegans, and very cheap, but not particularly exciting”
Review of La Biotika

La Biotika
Reserve with
La Biotika is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3,493 of 10,784 Restaurants in Madrid
Price range: $11 - $18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Huertas
Description: Macrobiotic vegetarian restaurant. Located in Madrid center, in the Barrio de las Letras. A cozy and quiet place to enjoy vegetarian and macrobiotic food. A good place for a healthy daily meal.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good for vegans, and very cheap, but not particularly exciting”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

I read good things about this place, and went there to check the hype. The restaurant is quite small, and yet it feels very impersonal. The menu was really quite confusing. They have Menus A,B,C,D, which were quite hard to decipher. The presentation was ok, but not particularly cared for. Service was slow, and not very attentive (although it was a very busy Saturday, so I understand that the staff could not work much faster, but a smile would have been welcome, or at least a 'how is everything?') As for the carrots, red cabbage and raisins servings put on the plate..well, it was not very exciting. The rice was good. The best thing was the white chocolate cake, which was really fantastic. I would go back just to have their dessert. The weekend menu was only 13.50, and included soup, a small salad, a plate with 3 servings of different dishes, and dessert, as well as warm bread (lovely) and a hot drink. Apart from the excellent value, and the very great cakes they have, I do not think I will be running back there.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AMadrid14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    64
    42
    11
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Tasty vegetarian and vegan food”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Although I'm not vegetarian or vegan, this restaurant situated a couple of minutes walk from the Anton Martin metro station was a welcolme change to some of the heavier fayre I'd been eating in restaurants and tapas bars around Madrid on the previous days before I visited. The lunchtime fixed price menu was good value with the possibility of a meze selection of vegetarian and vegan foods. Fresh, tasty food that was nicely presented with a good selection of organic drinks. Would definitely recommend to anyone vegetarian, vegan, or carnivore like me.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank jdanon71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tasteless, unimaginative food”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We went to this restaurant after reading recent reviews on trip advisor. The food was terrible, the service was poor. We were extremely disappointed with the meal and overall experience.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cskrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Really good experience multiple visits”
Reviewed April 17, 2012 via mobile

Ive been here a number of times, I think it's great. Lovely staff, laid back (never feel rushed as you can elsewhere) and its good honest home cooked vegetarian food. I'd highly recommend it

Helpful?
Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Average vegetarian restaurant”
Reviewed February 19, 2012

I was excited to try a vegetarian restaurant in Madrid. Overall, the food was okay. The menu of the day is a good deal (€10.5), with options for starters, main meal, and desserts. I particularly enjoyed the wild rice with raisins, but everything else was okay and somewhat mediocre in flavor.  The tempeh was not well-prepared. For desserts, they had many options, including without lactose and without sugar. I had the carob cake, which was again okay. However, amid hundreds of restaurants with pork and chicken, I did appreciate being able to eat everything on the menu.My husband liked the beer.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alwaysfuntraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Biotika also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to La Biotika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing