We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent neighbourhood restaurant”
Review of Casa Marta - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Casa Marta
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Centro
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
406 reviews
276 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Excellent neighbourhood restaurant”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Wandering around and saw this restaurant after finding the one I had planed to eat at was closed for holidays . It had just opened for lunch at 1.30 I resisted the menu of the day which looked really good, all the other diners (all Portuguese) went for it.
I started with squid fried in batter, calarmari a la romana. This was lovely but such a large pottion I couldn't finish it. My main was fish "meatballs", albodigas de mero (mero is grouper). I think the balls had some pork mixed with the fish. It was unusal and very tasty. All the other diners had house wine in carafes, we had a bottle of Rueda which was excellent.
This was not only a very good meal but also the cheapest I had in Madrid.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexWembley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    16
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
birmingham england
Level Contributor
442 reviews
268 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
“a traditional treat”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

this small restaurant with several rooms is decorated with tiles, wood and old photos and mementos. A quiet and attentive service together with simple traditional food makes this a welcome place to lunch. The daily menu looked tempting but we wandered into the a la carte and found our starters,main courses and wine delicious and reasonably priced. I had melon and serrano ham and a lovely gilt head bream and potatoes.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank vandasin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice way to ease your travel budget and eat well too!”
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Ok, so you've only got 13 euros left and need to fill your boots before you catch the evening flight back home. You dislike chains and restaurants who dish out their meals at production line speeds. You value a sense of home-cooked quality in your food and like to eat it somewhere which shares a similar sense of homeliness.

Well Casa Marta is the place for you! Three courses, bread, wine and coffee for a ridiculous 13 euros (I remember when it used to be 10 euros!) in a small, quaint but very welcoming venue. When you first arrive you may be forgiven for thinking you've stumbled across a senior citizen's living room - but you will be greeted and welcomed in by the owner who will meticulously go over the set menu for that day (two to three choices for each course) and treat you with the same care and attention your grandparents give when you go to visit.

On both occasions that we visited we were offered some obvious choices, but also some left field choices which I had never tried before. In fairness, the food is nice, nothing more, and you may be unlucky on the day you visit if one of the courses fails to offer you something which takes your eye. For example, on our second visit there were only two choices for the starter - 1) boiled cauliflower seasoned with paprika, and 2) cold garlic and almond soup. Neither really got the juices going and my girlfriend didn't really enjoy the cauliflower starter. But we were willing to ignore the only blot in our two ventures to Casa Marta as the value can't be beaten, especially considering how close it is to all the main tourist traps.

  • Visited October 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kingofspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
1 review
“Excellent food, affordable price”
Reviewed September 17, 2009

The main thing you will experience in Casa Marta is the feeling and taste of "Home made" dishes.

Unpretentious, yet very high quality. they make the food each day in small quantities, high quality, and with a lot of carino (spanish for affection) for each plate. i really enjoyed everything i had from starters to desert, and so did my girlfriend.

I will definately be going back there and recommending it to friends.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrGreengo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“warm, friendly and delicious food!”
Reviewed July 21, 2009

Not living far away I've wanted to try casa marta for a while. A late lunch one Saturday afternoon was ideal. A beautiful dish of stuffed chipirones and a very good bottle of red to finish off! Clean, cool and decent prices although wouldn't call it cheap! Will definately pop back again to try the menu del dia.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clarat56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Marta also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing