We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Italian restaurant in La Latina neighborhood”
Review of Emma y Julia

Emma y Julia
Ranked #540 of 11,010 Restaurants in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: La Latina
Madrid, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very good Italian restaurant in La Latina neighborhood”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Our friends recommended and showed us this Italian restaurant few weeks ago. It is located in La Latina neighborhood just few minutes walking from Plaza Mayor. The overall experience, food and service were really good. We tried several different dishes, including pizzas, lasagna and pasta - everything was very enjoyable and tasty; including the starter. The value/price ratio is very good as well. We will definitely come back there.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank mikesk8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    124
    49
    17
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Overpriced, poor quality food, don't bother...”
Reviewed April 27, 2012 via mobile

A random pricing structure (starters far more than most of the mains), we tried pizzas. They arrived with no tomato sauce at all, and only a scant amount of cheese / topping, for the price, it was very poor value. Atmosphere and service to match unfortunately... A real shame we went there on our last evening in Madrid.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank holidaygal38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashton u lyne
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“rustic”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

old rustic pizzeria great staff and a special filet steak try it location cava baja the street of restuarants

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank AshtonULyneGregoryd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Warm and Welcome experience”
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Our experience at Emma Y Julia 's Pizzaria was fabulous! After being in Spain a few days prior and finding our dining experiences somehat less than average, Emma Y Julia raised the bar. The host and waitress were very friendly and inviting which was wonderful. Then came the pizza which was delicious and most enjoyable. We found this pizzeria an oasis in the restaurant desert of Madrid.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank out4goodtimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious Pizza in a charming setting. Service could be better.”
Reviewed November 18, 2010

After reading rave reviews about Emma y Julia's pizza, I had big expectations for my meal there. My two friends and I went there on a Friday night with a 21:30 reservation. It was already packed and only got busier as the night went on.
The interior of the restaurant is really cosy and charming. There are exposed brick walls throughout the restaurant that are reminiscent of Italy or even of a New York pizzeria.
Each of my friends and I ordered a different pizza. The pizzas are big and run about 10-15euros each. They really are delicious and definitely the best pizza I have had in Madrid. They are thin-crust and pretty light. Lots of different toppings/combinations are available.
We decided against getting starters after seeing the size of the pizzas. The starters on the menu are for sharing with the table and run about 8-12euros each. They also have big salads to share for starters. We selected a reasonably priced bottle of wine with our meal. Unfortunately it took the waiter so long to bring it to us that we had already started eating our pizzas when it finally arrived. The place is busy and the waiters are not terribly professional; their attention to detail could certainly improve, as could their "bedside manner." Still, it was overall a nice evening and the pizza - most importantly- was delicious.
I recommend it !
*FYI, I had wanted to call and make a reservation around 18:00 when we decided on Emma y Julia. Since they don't open for dinner until 8pm and didn't answer the phone, I used eltenedor.es to make the reservation and it worked perfectly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dippinginthesauce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emma y Julia also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Emma y Julia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing