We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location terrible restaurant”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hegar

Hegar
Reserve with
Hegar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8,119 of 10,548 Restaurants in Madrid
Price range: $15 - $23
Cuisines: European, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Centro
london
Level Contributor
84 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“great location terrible restaurant”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

One of the best locations in Madird to watch the action in Place Major but the worst meal we have ever eaten in Spain and possibly ever. The old waiters took over two hours to serve our three course meal with meals coming at different times and the quality being dreadful - we didn't even hang around for dessert. The set meal was priced at 22 euros with a glass of wine that is a reasonalble price considering teh location but the fish was either raw or overcooked the steaks fatty and tough and the stew a dreadful flavour. Would avoid if at all possible.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lovefoodLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    56
    43
    38
    67
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vaasa, Finland
Level Contributor
222 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Nothing special - priced above average as everything on Plaza Mayor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

We were looking for a place to have dinner at on a Saturday night with a group consisting of two couples. We wanted to go to this adorable tapas place we found the first night in Madrid but unfortunately it was completely full and we ended up wandering to Plaza Mayor where there was plenty of room, for rather obvious reason, it's rather touristy and therefore rather overpriced. The positive side was that there was plenty to choose from in the menu (which was appreciated considering our group included vegetarians as well). The personnel didn't really seem to be very interested in us and I was rather disappointed when they brought out mine and my boyfriend's food and then didn't seem to be in any kind of hurry of brining out the rest. The paella ordered by one member of the group was not brought out until about 20 min later. Paying was another thing that was a bit of a show, the waiter brought out the machine for my card but then lost interest and left to help a kid with a toy (together with the rest of the staff). The food was average, nothing bad and nothing special, just decent. There are better places in Madrid to go to for sure.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great house menu and specials”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Stopped by for a long lunch and ordered from the special house lunch menu. Bread, 2 course entree, wine and dessert for 11? . Good was delicious and atmosphere was delightful. Good service too.

Helpful?
1 Thank Rob A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Overpriced poor quality small portions”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

This is one of those places that catches you once but never again. While the portions were miniscule the lack of flavour made things worse. Further insult was added when the bill finally came and left us gobsmacked at the charges for drink.

A one circle rating is too much to give this place.

Avoid this place if you are looking for a meal. To be clear.... Avoid!

Helpful?
1 Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
87 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Food was good, service was same as everywhere else in Madrid”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

After walking around town, we made it to Plaza Mayor, sat at Hegar to have a drink and ended up ordering lunch. The food wasn't bad, one tried fried anchovies and they really liked it, roasted suckling pig was good (almost better than famous Botin, and the Paella was very good.

We experienced service extremely slow in almost every restaurant in Madrid, and here was no different. Our waiter was very attentive and unusually friendly, something we didn't see much anywhere else.

One thing to note, the food for this restaurant next to Soportal and another one, all come from the same kitchen, the waiters all go to the same place to get the food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Poohh66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hegar also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Hegar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing