We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Food/Festive Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Oter Epicure

Oter Epicure
Reserve with
Oter Epicure is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #980 of 10,520 Restaurants in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Barrio de Salamanca
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Food/Festive Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed in the Salamanca neighborhood and stumbled upon Oter...we had dinner 3 of our 10 nights there. Outstanding service and excellent food...it was packed with folks from the neighborhood.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MartinB68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    65
    9
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
644 reviews
335 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 419 helpful votes
“Decent place to eat in trendy part of Madrid”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

This place is right down street for Hotel Unico where we stayed and was great for the location but madrid is full of amazing places so this place is probably standard fare but doesnt knock your socks off place. .. we had Pulpo de pedrero ( (grilled octopus) and some wine.. .the pulpo was something to see as it looked like something from Jule Verne book. ..but hey if you can past the look the food was delicious!

The ambiance is sophisticated but that fits in with neighborhood as this place is in trendy part of town. The price is slightly more expensive on average but ok for what we wanted to do (eat something close to hotel without filling up for our night on town).

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RonanJordi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton Manors, Florida
Level Contributor
91 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful But A Poor Value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

At the recommendation of friends who visited Mardrid a year ago, my partner and I went to Oter Epicure in mid-October. This is a beautiful restaurant in a vibrant area away from the main tourist attractions. I give an average rating primarily because we had much superior meals on the trip .... some for half the price we paid at Oter. Go for a special occasion. The service is outstanding. Our main course order of steak and fish were unimpressive as the stake was tough (as others have mentioned) and the preparation for the fish was bland.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Florida-Traveler-888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Food and Service - how it should be done”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

I was taken here by a colleague, and I was in for a treat. The sign of a good restaurant is the tableware, and Zweizel glassware for the wine and the ambience and decor was selling me. The food was great, my steak was a bit tough, but the overall experience excellent.

The place was heaving for a lunchtime around 3pm, the noise of life was filling the air and the wait staff attentive to all patrons. The food smell and taste was good as was the wine.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stu D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Outstanding hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

We checked the few reviews in Trip Advisor, the ranking and decided to give it a shot.

The ambiance is somewhat sophisticated, kind of a mix of a spanish taverna with a fancy restaurant. The menu is based on typical Spanish dishes, cooked to perfection. We had the Pulpo de pedrero (grilled octopus), which was tender and tasty. We also tried the Navajas Gallegas (a kind of seashell from Galicia), also very good.

From the welcoming staff to the excellent food, the Oter Epicuro is an excellent choice, one that justifies taking the metro to trade the tourist traps for a better option

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fsuzaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oter Epicure also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Oter Epicure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing