We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not just a fish restaurant.”
Review of Rafa

Rafa
Reserve with
Rafa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,649 of 10,992 Restaurants in Madrid
Price range: $44 - $87
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Rafa is one of the best and most famous seafood restaurants in Madrid, with more than 50 years of experience. This classic style restaurant is specialized in fish and seafood from the Spanish coast and has been awarded in several times with a Sun in the Repsol Gastronomic Guide. Monday night closed for rest of the staff.
dungarvan
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not just a fish restaurant.”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Having got lost we stumbled upon this restaurant so we had no idea of what it would be like. We ate upstairs in a formal restaurant (lots of linen). It is predominantly a fish restaurant, but they do have a good range of choices, although it is expensive.We had steak and lamb dishes both of which were delicious. They have an excellent wine list, the wine we selected was the best we tasted in Spain. The desserts were satisfactory although not to the standard of the main course. The service was formal, but friendly and efficient and they provide the menu in English if required. Overall, expensive but delicious main course and wine.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank eoinh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    53
    21
    7
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Seafood Heaven at a price”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Seafood is expensive, there doesn't seem to be a way around that. We had Sunday lunch surrounded by Spanish families feasting on incredibly fresh seafood. Service was excellent and the server's recommendations were spot on. His wine recommendation was perfect and not expensive. Grilled Octopus with creamed potatoes as a shared starter was perhaps the best octopus I've had. I had Sea Bream and my wife had garbonzo beans with pheasant for mains. Both very good but not as outstanding as the starter. I think if I get lucky enough to go back I'll dine on starters instead of starter and entree. Altogether a lovely afternoon at a lovely restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rentalsatwintergreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great combination of service and food”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

You have to love a restaurant that combines a very professional wait staff and excellent food. I had calimari and then rice combined with octopus and monk fish. Then a Spanish grappa and espresso. Very enjoyable .

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fish!”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is a really old fashioned local restaurant that specialises in sea-food. Service was good and friendly, although the average age of the waiters must be around 60 years old. The food did not disappoint. This restaurant was a great find!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank abuffboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Grad Sofiya, Bulgaria
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of the best Madrid experiences”
Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Came with 12 colleagues, visiting from all over EU. Wonderful experience, next time we will come back again.

Stylish, great food and service.

Highly recommended for wine and food aficionados.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FefoSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rafa also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Rafa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing