We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK food .... huge bill”

Afternoon Tea at the Lobby Bar
Ranked #76 of 132 Coffee & Tea in Madrid
Price range: $50 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Paseo del Prado
Clifton Park, New York
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“OK food .... huge bill”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

If you like $20 for bottle of coke, and $30 for a sandwich...enjoy.

Views are good, service is slow. Price is out of line.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nycp123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    23
    5
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“regal drinks and food in the lounge!”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

$$$$$$$$$$$$$ Beware $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$ Having drinks and snacks in the lounge is definitely not inexpensive, but is definitely worth the experience if you have the budget for it. There is piano player and the lounge is just beautiful! We had a round of very expensive martinis over complimentary almonds and potato chips, followed by yummy fried calamari (shoestring style!). We were not happy with the chicken meatballs or the spicy potatoes.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traveler2385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peace and Luxury”
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

The Ritz in Madrid is a must. It is a step back into a glorious past of luxury. I sat in the Ritz Hall and enjoyed some tea, lovely piano music and read my book. The staff is polite and very attentive. I look forward to returning.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MPereiraNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Like a king”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

this place truly has that Palace feeling! As other reviews say, it does need some update even though the decoration has it´s own style and don´t think it can be changed (but yes updated). Enjoyed the Sunday brunch, a massive quantity of sublime delicacies! Enjoy also their concierge team, I was making bets with them as was certains there were things they couldn´t get for me but they did... was happy to loose!!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank JuanLuisG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The "Ritzy" experience I expected!”
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

You couldn't have a better location for enjoying a relaxing, walking visit to the historical area of this beautiful city. The rooms are very comfortable, but the bathroom is "tight". But, the incredible service from everyone from the maid to the concierge personifies the expression of "lagniappe". I would definitely give this hotel a four star rating!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BigRedDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Afternoon Tea at the Lobby Bar also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Afternoon Tea at the Lobby Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing