We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A classic”
Review of Riofrio

Riofrio
Ranked #6,798 of 10,696 Restaurants in Madrid
Price range: $22 - $45
Cuisines: Spanish, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Chueca
Madrid
Level Contributor
266 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“A classic”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Be ready to be transported into old-style Madrid, and Europe, for that matter. Whether you'll be eating inside or taking the food with you, there's a lot to choose from with a touch of France when it comes to the pastries. The atmosphere is lovely and makes for a mellow, lowkey afternoon though definitely better for those who are a bit older, be it in body or soul.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ReyVas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    21
    12
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Level Contributor
138 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“A bit decadent, but food is fine”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Riofrío preserves today the decadent ambience of the 80s, both in the furniture and the music. +60 year-old professional maitres share the service with younger waiters. Typically, this is a place where you will feel comfortable if you're in your 60s-70s. If you're younger and are planning a romantic dinner with your couple, definitely this is not the right place. However, the restaurant is well located right by Plaza de Colón, close to some tourist attractions such as the Was Museum and the Arqueological Museum, so it is a good option if you're in the area. Food is not expensive and it has a fair quality. It also offers menu for kids.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Goodclient
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belsele, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good place for group dinner”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I enjoyed this restaurant with a group of 70 people, for which they have a reserved space with outside garden to have the starter drinks. Food and service where excellent. Minor remark is they don't understand English that good, which makes it sometimes a bit more difficult to express what you need...

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterDeTender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Classy little place”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Before visiting the Wax Museum in Madrid we were a little peckish my Girlfriend and I, we saw this place a minute walk away, we ordered sandwiches which came with chips, we also got drinks. Not much to review, but the prices were reasonable and the staff were extremely friendly and we had a good laugh at my Spanish accent...

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JamieFellows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We were recommended this restaurant by our Hotel, and enjoyed it so much that we ate there for the 3 nights we were in Madrid. On the first night we were greeted by the Matre di Marco who welcomed us and made us feel very special. Our waiter was Enrique who also made us feel very welcome, so much so that we went back for the next 2 nights. They both treated us as if were VIP guests and made two strangers in a new country (not being able to speak Spanish either) feel very special. The food was fantastic as was the service and the decor. We really missed these two lovely men who made our stay in Madrid an awesome experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sueandbill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riofrio also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Riofrio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing