We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place for group dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Riofrio

Riofrio
Ranked #6,775 of 10,520 Restaurants in Madrid
Price range: $21 - $43
Cuisines: Spanish, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Chueca
Belsele, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good place for group dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

I enjoyed this restaurant with a group of 70 people, for which they have a reserved space with outside garden to have the starter drinks. Food and service where excellent. Minor remark is they don't understand English that good, which makes it sometimes a bit more difficult to express what you need...

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterDeTender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    21
    12
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dartford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Classy little place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Before visiting the Wax Museum in Madrid we were a little peckish my Girlfriend and I, we saw this place a minute walk away, we ordered sandwiches which came with chips, we also got drinks. Not much to review, but the prices were reasonable and the staff were extremely friendly and we had a good laugh at my Spanish accent...

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JamieFellows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

We were recommended this restaurant by our Hotel, and enjoyed it so much that we ate there for the 3 nights we were in Madrid. On the first night we were greeted by the Matre di Marco who welcomed us and made us feel very special. Our waiter was Enrique who also made us feel very welcome, so much so that we went back for the next 2 nights. They both treated us as if were VIP guests and made two strangers in a new country (not being able to speak Spanish either) feel very special. The food was fantastic as was the service and the decor. We really missed these two lovely men who made our stay in Madrid an awesome experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sueandbill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
160 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Nice Nearby Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

Rio Frio is convenient to the Gran Melia Fenix and has outdoor seating. The food--their signature sandwich and the half of a chicken with fries--was good. Service was friendly and efficient. We ate outside, but the inside looked attractive.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank glennr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
87 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Decent alternative to breakfast at Gran Melia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2011

Decent coffee place for breakfast if you do not want to splurge at the Gran Melia. I am told food is also god for lunch, but have not sampled yet.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Londonsense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riofrio also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Riofrio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing