We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and clean”
Review of Hostal Pizarro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostal Pizarro
Ranked #97 of 418 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Reviewed October 7, 2009

Hotel is excellently situated just off Gran Via. It is very clean, comfortable and quiet. It is within easy reach of 6 metro stations on various lines, which made it very easy to travel around.
There is no lift in the building so lugging cases up stairs is quite a challenge. There is tea and coffee making facility and a microwave available.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ciaran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostalpizarro, Gerente at Hostal Pizarro, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2010

Thank you very much for commenting on the hostel.
We're working on that very soon the building has an elevator.
Warm regards
Chema

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 265 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2009

the hostal pizarro is a really cute place with modern decor, a big, comfortable lounge, and free tea and wifi! the hostal is spotlessly clean--the cleaning lady even wears a little doctor's coat! we stayed in two different rooms--room 11 and room 7. room 11 faced the interior of the building, and it was very dark. it was hard to wake up in the morning. room 11 faces the street and gets better light. try to request an outside room if you can--they really are much nicer.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 12FOOT3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2009

The hotel is centrally located, between Madrid districts of La Chueca and Malasaña, and everything important can be reached in a few minutes walking. When I arrived in Madrid I bought a Metro weekly travel card, but actually I didn't use it, as I didn't need to take public transport or metro.

Hotel's room are located on the first floor of a nice modernist building (if you like modernist and art nouveau architecture it can be a nice experience...) where other people live. The reception is open till evening, but they give you the keys of the door and the main gate, so coming back late at night is not a problem.

The room I got was incredibly small and dark (like all other rooms that look on to the courtyard, I guess), but pleasantly furnished (ikea style), very clean and quite comfortable. A WiFi connection is available for free, so it's worth bringing your own laptop. If you don't wanna carry it, there is a desktop PC in the reception available for the visitors (as well as a microwave).

The staff is very friendly and helpful, even though English is not exactly well spoken among them.

There is no breakfast available for the visitors, but you can have great churros with chocolate for 2 euros in the small bar right in front of the hotel.

I will surely come back in this Hostal, but next time I will ask for a larger room.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanvean76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2009

Great hostal - highly recommended.

Good location bang in the centre of Malasana - Chueca, Gran Via are both a short walk.

Don't let the horrible street entrance (looks like a building site) put you off.

Only downside is that our room was interior (like most of them?) and so we didn't get much ventilation through the window. Room has a fan but I couldn't see any aircon, so it might get uncomfortable in mid-summer.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KingOfThePond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2009

Hostal Pizarro is in a building located in centre of Madrid, in the Chueca district. In the surrounding area you will find shops, laundrette, bars and clubs to suit any taste, as well as cultural offerings including some of the most prestigious galleries, e.g. Museum Reina Sofia, Museum del Prado, Thyssen-Bornemisza.

We found this Hostal perfect. It is located a few steps away from the Gran Via, the main shopping streets and metro lines. The staff at Hostal Pizarro were very welcoming and friendly and really helpful. They were always in disposition to provide information in what ever we required; places to see and go. It is very clean, modern and meticulous kept. It is one of the best places we have ever stayed. The beds were very good and comfortable, which is very rare. There is a large television in the reception area with sofas, books, newspapers, cups, cutlery with tea bags, coffee, jugs of water, microwave for guests, a computer with free internet access, and also provides to their customers free Wi-Fi through out all the building.

In the rooms there is a television, a free safe with a security number that you can set yourself, polished hard wood floor, and several lamps/lights. The bathroom was fantastic too, with fresh towels every day. It is excellent value for money and we would stay there again without hesitation. It is gay-friendly – there were leaflets about various clubs in the local area as well as tourist information in the reception area.

It is a great place for all types of people to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2009

The staff at Hostel Pizarro were very welcoming and friendly and it was super clean and modern. Unfortunately our room was quite small and dark, I did see other rooms which were bigger but we were out all day so it didn’t really matter too much.
The location is very central but the area is quite seedy and there are many 'ladies of the night' in the square around the corner. I didn’t feel worried about walking around at night but I was aware of what was going on.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rubylondon_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2009

Although the entrance is a bit strange (you'll see what I mean if you visit the place), I found this hostel perfect. It is located a few steps away from the gran via, main shopping streets and metro lines. The place focusses on gay clients, has obvioulsly only recently been refurbished and nicely redecorated with the help of IKEA, is very clean and is well maintained. The beds were very good and confortable, which I find quite rare for a place in this price range! Rooms on the street side may be noisy. The hostel is located at the fist floor of the property and the rooms at the back look at a smallcourty yard, so no views there. However, that way the rooms keep cool which is great in summer. I will definately consider to stay in this hostel again. Ask for a quiet room if you want to sleep late.

Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
Thank piboBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Malasana
Hostal Ballesta
Hostal Ballesta
#158 of 438 in Madrid
633 reviews
Malasana
Best Western Hotel Los Condes
Ayre Gran Hotel Colon
#150 of 438 in Madrid
1,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
Hostal Zamora
Hostal Zamora
#207 of 438 in Madrid
235 reviews
Centro
Hostal Madrid
Hostal Madrid
#17 of 282 in Madrid
357 reviews
Centro
Sungate One Hostel
Sungate One Hostel
#1 of 418 in Madrid
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Pizarro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Pizarro

Address: Calle Pizarro 14-1, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 418 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Price Range: $43 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal Pizarro 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Pizarro is located downtown in Madrid, in Chueca neighborhood, a well known district all over the world for its lesbian and gay discos and parties. We have 17 rooms with finished bath, with all kinds of details and combinations among themselves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostal Pizarro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Pizarro Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing