We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, comfortable beds, very clean.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostal Victoria III
Ranked #238 of 390 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
116 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great location, comfortable beds, very clean.”
Reviewed February 25, 2010

Location excellent, centrally located within a block of the Sol central square where all the metros connect. Hotel does have elevator, which although small accomodated 2 people and 2 suitcases (tight squeeze). Entry is locked and staff buzzes you in so very good security for your peace of mind. Room was good size, with window you could step out to view street below. Only complaint I have is small size of bath and placement of toliet made it difficult to climb in and out of shower. But very clean and nice towels, plenty of blankets on the bed. Staff did not speak English but tried very hard to accomodate any request or assist in locating specific sites/restaurants or provide info as long as you attempted to communicate in (in our case somewhat broken) Spanish.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Austin_TexasRedhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    32
    14
    4
    7
See reviews for
8
31
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2010

Hostal Victoria is centrally located so you can get to the shops, trains, buses, and restaurants very easily. My room faced the back garden so it was very quiet. The rooms are very small, especially the bathrooms, but they were clean and served their purpose. We were only in the room to sleep, and I slept very well :)

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kukiimnzta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2009

Hostales Victoria actually has three hostals in Madrid: two (Victoria I and II) on Calle Carretas (immediately south of the Puerta del Sol) and one (Victoria III) on Carrera San Jerónimo, just a five minute walk east of the Puerta del Sol. I stayed in Hostal II. The main reception is in Victoria I, located on the second floor of the extremely easy to find Carretas 7, and you must check in there. Just a few steps away is Victoria II, which has rooms on both the second and fourth floors. There are elevators in both buildings.

Upon my arrival the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Please note that NOBODY speaks English here, period. I have a basic knowledge of Spanish and this was barely enough to get by. It was no problem to check in and get to my room, however, I had a special case because I had a game ticket for the Real Madrid-Barcelona game being delivered to the Hostal the day before. Unfortunately the receptionist had no idea of what I was talking about when I brought up the ticket and it took me hours to explain. He was extremely helpful, told me to come back in a couple hours, and, upon my return he had the ticket: a huge relief.

I was staying in a single ensuite room (personal bathroom) for a rate of 45 Euros a night. My room was cleaned thoroughly everyday, with all the towels replaced, toiletries restocked (shampoo, soap, etc.), and bed made. As soon as I left the room it was cleaned. Once I left just for half an hour and when I came back the room had already been cleaned.

The rooms are very safe and I felt very secure. Being on the fourth floor of a building makes you feel quite secure. I had no second thoughts when leaving my room.

There is a television in the room, which has about fifteen channels (all Spanish).

Location was obviously fantastic as it is pretty much IN the Puerta del Sol (one of, if not the most popular area in the cities center). Everything (minus the Santiago Bernabeu) was walking distance and I rarely took the Metro because of this.

I would definitely recommend this Hostal and will be returning upon my next visit to Madrid.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hrealmadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2008

This is one of the best value hotals in Madrid in terms of location and facilities. The service is both friendly and attentive.

Yes it is a no frills affair but then again you are not paying ridiculous hotel rates. You are in the heart of the city and atmosphere. A great choice and highly recommended for the smaller budget.

  • Liked — VFM
  • Disliked — No Issues
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ANDALUSGUY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Victoria 4
Hotel Victoria 4
#212 of 435 in Madrid
689 reviews
Centro
Hostal Victoria II
Hostal Victoria II
#66 of 277 in Madrid
205 reviews
Centro
Hostal Victoria I
Hostal Victoria I
#130 of 390 in Madrid
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Alojamiento Carrera
Alojamiento Carrera
#136 of 277 in Madrid
60 reviews
Huertas
No photo provided
Hostal Madrid Centro
#268 of 390 in Madrid
6 reviews
Chueca
Room007 Chueca Hostel
Room007 Chueca Hostel
#16 of 390 in Madrid
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Victoria III? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Victoria III

Property: Hostal Victoria III
Address: C/ Carrera San Jeronimo, 30 - 4th, 28014 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #238 of 390 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Victoria III 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hostal Victoria III reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Victoria Iii Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing