We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic free museum !”
Review of Museo del Aire

Museo del Aire
Ranked #97 of 781 things to do in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
908 reviews
571 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 889 helpful votes
“Fantastic free museum !”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Firstly the location. We sent ages planning hot to get here.... and the location of the museum is incorrectly given on various websites (including the start on trip advisor). It IS near Cuatro Vientos airfield. But its the other side of the Auto Pista M40 from the airfield it's self.

One option, as mentioned in quite a few reviews is to catch the Metro to the Cuatro Vientos Metro stop. This is indeed a good 20 min walk from the museum - just follow the main road heading in the direction out of the city when you leave the Metro station and you will get to a footbridge over the railway you have been walking next to and you are there. There is a grass path between a barrier and the railway - all very walkable.

As it was raining when we left the city we didn't fancy the walk, so we risked the bus. (we don't like busses usually - lots of chances of getting hopelessly lost). Get to Madrid Principe Pio bus station (Its on the Merto) and catch any of the busses which head for Alcorcon OR Mostoles. The station is easy to navigate and it really is very straightforward.

We asked the driver Museo del aire (We dont do Spanish at all well) and he knew exactly where we wanted. (Not sure of the cost - our 5 day travel pass covered it). After 12 or 13 mins the bus passed Cuatro Vientos metro stn and then pulled into a bus stop and the driver waved us off. Theres a path over a footbridge and a walkway into a Military area with sone very laid back Security guards who didnt bother us (Its all quite well signed).

The Museum is free - only slight hassle is you cant take rucksacks in but there are free lockers. Quick metal scanner and you are in.

The collection is quite impressive - The Strattotanker, something I had never seen before is amazing - there is an extensive collection of cold War Jets (East as well as West and some SAABs thrown in ).

There are 7 hangars with a whole plethora of stuff - simulators - radios etc etc as well as an extensive collection of planes incl HE111s and JU52s. The coffee shop is just a counter - no seats but its ok.

All in all a fantastic free museum. Getting back to the city is easy - just stand at the bus stop opposit the one you got off and all the busses go back to Madrid Principe Pio.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Me_n_my_rucksack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    81
    12
    2
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great museum with aircraft not seen elsewhere in Europe”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We walked from the Cuatro Vientos Metro station which was a 20 minute trek, apparently there are buses and we did find one on the way back. IF you do walk make sure you walk on the same side of the road as the railway line (we didn't . . .).
Free entry was a nice surpise! Plenty here for any aviation enthusiast, but principally military and with a Spanish theme of course. For me the KC-97L was the star. Some of the a/c have suffered under the Spanish sun, which is a shame, but not unexpected. The cafe is functional, take a picnic.
Worth a visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Zippyzoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Museo Del Aire - Madrid”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

If you have a few hours free in Madrid and are a fan of things aviation then this is a must do visit. Not the easiest place to find, but it is about a 15-20 min walk South East from the Cuatro Vientos Metro station (Line 10). Walking along the side of the A-5 on a rough path against the traffic is fine and safe.

The museum was free to enter (a nice surprise) but you cannot take a ruck sack inside (though there are lockers). The collection of aircraft is fabulous... There are several exhibts you can see in other museums but there are many that you will certainly struggle to find anywhere else. The majority are military ac but there are a few civilian ones. There are a few hangers with ac in as well and the lighting is such that photography is ok hand held in side (though a tripod would give even better results). Talking of photography, the ac are placed such that most can be photographed easily though the hangers are a bit crammed... with a bit of thought though you can get some nice shots.

The ac themselves are generally in good condition though some of those outside could do with a bit of TLC (there was obviously some work being done on the P3, Catalina and a couple of others). Those inside looked spotless...

So, should you visit... well, if you are into aircraft then most certainly... there is not much else there and there is very little interaction; one ac was open to view inside, but that was it. The cafe was basic but the drinks cold, which was all that was required (it was 37 deg when I visited!!!). Personally I thought it was an excellent museum and well worth the effort of finding.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Far away from the centre”
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Unless you are really into aviation history there is no point in going. Some airplanes outside and a few more inside.

Helpful?
Thank WWTravel_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Impressive collection of vintage aircraft.”
Reviewed January 27, 2012

The museum is located just 20 minutes walking distance from the number 10 line station 'cuatro vientos'.
Once out of the station 'do not catch any of the green buses' I made that mistake and completely overan the museum.
Walk towards the flow of traffic at the side of railway line and past the bus stop, basically there's a path between the barrier and the road.
You should see a water tower with Museo written on it, walk until the barrier blocks the path leading a road over railway bridge. Basically walk over the bridge and the museum in located at the end on the right.

Once there you have to go through a security scanner (basic security) before gaining entry. The museum is free and you are given a ticket and guide map.
The museum has a fantastic selection of aircraft outside and stored in 6 or 7 hangars, helicopters, vintage, general aircraft, fighter jets, helicopters including the Huey.
It is impressive to say the least, having visited Smithsonian in Washington dc.

The ony complaint is the security and inability to inspect the aircraft closely, plus I was watched constantly by a female security guard who didn't seem to mind making me feel uncomfortable.
Other than that for those with an interest in old nostalgic aircraft, this is a must see. Or if you have children there's a hangar full of flight simulatorrs etc.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo del Aire also viewed

 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Museo del Aire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing