We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good position, very clean, reasonable price”
Review of Hostal Avenida

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostal Avenida
Ranked #106 of 277 Madrid B&B and Inns
Rome
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good position, very clean, reasonable price”
Reviewed October 17, 2011

It's difficult to find anything particularly thrilling to say about the Hostal Avenida: it's very central, very clean and reasonably priced; the back room we were in was very quiet with a functional, clean little bathroom; the beds were comfortable. The only thing that might be problematic for some is that not all the staff speak good English, but in their defence they are all very helpful and friendly and do their best to communicate, so despite my atrocious Spanish we had no problems. Comfortable, relaxing stay - would go back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    28
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
10
26
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
CA
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

This hostel did not even seem like one. It is in a beautiful building (full of other hostels on other floors) on a main street (gran via), which made it close to the subway and within walking distance of everything we wanted to see. The staff was wonderful. They stored our luggage, gave us wonderful directions, and welcomed us. Unfortunately, the wood floors are creaky. We had the room at the end of the hall (no view, but a private bathroom) which you think would be the most quiet, but everything echoes. I woke up when others came in late. However, the room was under $100 for two people for one night, and in a great location. Can't complain about that.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sedillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Granted, it's a little noisy sometimes with the cars passing along the Gran Via and occasionally, the demonstrations (which could be a good thing too, since you can just watch the action from your balcony), but that's a given since the hostel is so centrally located. You're barely a couple hundred meters from Puerto Del Sol and the Gran Via metro, from where you can get to many attractions without transferring, is but a couple minutes' walk away. The room is pretty spacious and everything is very clean. (I had no qualms lazing on the bed coverlet). Towels are changed everyday and you even get a small tub in the bathroom. The reception can be considered 24hours - the staff would be at the counter early in the morning till late at night (about 11pm) and in between, the security guard on the ground level would help out with the reception. Internet is very consistent as compared to what we got at a hostel in Barcelona. Seriously, I don't know how else to put it but I'm fussy and I like this place! Well worth the price you pay!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eviancamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2009

The big selling point of this hostal is its location on the Gran Via very near to the metro station and easy walking distance of the whole of the centre of Madrid.

WE paid 65 Euro a night for a room with a double bed.

Number 15 was quite easy to find once you work out building numbers and there is a plaque in the doorway to confirm the location.

You have to take 1 of the 2 lifts to the 4th floor. Once there ring the door bell for the hostal. There are several other hostals on that floor as well.

Check in was very easy and the room (number 10) was perfectly fine, with a reasonable amount of room and an en-suite toilet and shower.

The thing that surprised us was how quiet it was, the window opened to an inner courtyard and there was no noise from the Gran Via.

The only thing that could have been problematic was that the reception desk closed at about 21:00. After this time you have to ring the door bell on the main building and a night porter will take you up to the 4th floor, open up the hostal and give you your room key.
We arrived back at between 1and 2am both days we were there and we had no problems at all, but if the porter was letting other people in I can see that you might have to wait a couple of minutes for him to return downstairs.

All in all a good find. When I next go back to Madrid I would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zappafanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2009

Hostal Avenida is a relatively decent guesthouse in a very convenient location on Gran Via, however what really lets the place down is the service and there were a few frustrations staying there.

• Firstly, it's location on Gran Via is excellent. It's only a 2min walk from Gran Via Metro underground. Many of Madrid's main attractions are within walking distance: Parque del Retiro, Puerta del Sol, Plaza Mayor, Palacio de las Comunicaciones.

• Whilst it's in a good location, it's not very easy to find and not signposted from the outside. We walked past the building twice before realising it was there.

• There was only one staff member & he didn't speak a single word of English which proved to be quite frustrating, if not mildly amusing as we had to resort in charades. I only understand basic Spanish. We pre-paid for the room on the web, but he was asking us for money, so it was difficult to communicate this and he didn't understand "PRE-PAID" on our confirmation sheet. We got thru to him eventually (phew!).

• No wi-fi it seems?! They claim they do, but my laptop couldn't find a network. When I asked the staff whether they had 'wifi' or 'internet' (and even showed them my laptop), they still didn't understand what I was asking them. Instead I went to the McDonalds around the corner and used their wifi, very slow, but it worked.

• Rooms are basic, pretty small but clean, nice looking and relatively quiet despite being on Gran Via, just keep the window closed at night if you're a light sleeper.

• Every time you enter the hostal you have to ring a doorbell and wait for someone to let you in. There's usually someone there at reception but sometimes it can take a minute or two.

• The lock-out after 11pm was quite annoying, esp as this wasn't communicated to us at all. After 11pm they close the front door to the building & you have to call the doorman to let you in. The doorman however was not there once and we waited for about 15-20mins for him to return. He then takes you up in the lift to the hostal which is also locked.

Whilst there were no major dramas staying at Hostal Avenida, it certainly didn't come across as professional as their marketing and website suggest and was not good value for money. Being unable to communicate whatsoever with it's staff was also frustrating. With it's greatest asset being it's location, I'd recommend looking at other hostals in the area.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laguida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2009

It is a wonderful hostel, small, clean, friendly and close to the Museo del Prado, Las Cibeles, Plaza Mayor, Puerta del Sol ... etc. in the nearest corner is the Grand Hotel Gran Via and eat copious, and a vegan vegetarian restaurant a few Chinese friends Sandrita. He spends very rich in Madrid ... I, recomended, it`s very good, The best for me !!!. Baisers.

Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Miyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hostal Felipe V
Hostal Felipe V
#293 of 435 in Madrid
86 reviews
Centro
Hostal Hispano-Argentino
Hostal Hispano-Argentino
#384 of 435 in Madrid
32 reviews
Chueca
Hostal Splendid
Hostal Splendid
#331 of 435 in Madrid
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Avenida Gran Via
Hotel Avenida Gran Via
#358 of 435 in Madrid
287 reviews
Centro
Hotel Arosa
Hotel Arosa
#248 of 435 in Madrid
1,369 reviews
Chueca
H10 Villa de la Reina Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Avenida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Avenida

Property: Hostal Avenida
Address: Calle Gran Via 15 Planta 4 Puerta A, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 277 B&Bs / Inns in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Avenida 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are going to give you three important reasons for staying in Hostal Avenida: The first one: We are right in the Gran Vía... If Madrid had a heart, we would be right in the middle. The second reason: Staying in Madrid tends to be expensive. We are one of those few exceptions: we offer you super-affordable rooms from only 40 Euros per night. The third one: Our guesthouse is small and cosy, and we take special care of the cleanliness of the premises and our customer services. There is no question about it, we will make you feel at home. You are not totally convinced yet? Okay. We still have a trick up our sleeve: we have Wi-Fi access to the Internet all over the hotel and it is free! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hostal Avenida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing