We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget hotel, Great Location!!!”
Review of Hostal Condestable

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostal Condestable
Ranked #193 of 283 Madrid B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 27, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a few days with friends ( 12 of us) and was a bit concerned from the reviews and photographs that we were in for a rough few days, however we were pleasantly surprised on arrival. The hotel is very basic and budget, but with the wonders of Madrid to explore and the plethera of bars and restaurants in the area to visit, you are basically just wanting somewhere relatively clean and comfortable to use as a base to sleep and shower in. The rooms were very small and the bathroom you couldnt swing a cat in, however they were clean and well attended. The bed itself was not the best and slightly on the small side, but as I said, after a long day of exploring Madrid all you need is somewhere to put your head down at the end of the night.The location was definitely the Highlight, just off Gran Via, far enough away from all the tourists, but close enough if you want to go for a shop. The area is full of bars and cafes and piazzas you would need weeks to attend them all there were so many. The staff wre as helpful as they could be, as my spanish and their english was not the best, but we seemed to be able to muddle our way through any requests. This wouldnt suit everyone as it is quite budget, and at times the street noise was a bit out of control, but if you are an explorer and adventurer who would rather spend money on shopping, eating, drinking etc then I can definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tandylands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 92 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2013

The rooms were extremely clean with a nice shower and bathroom. I think some rooms do not have a bathroom but the communal ones looked clean as well. The room wasn't made on one night of our 5 day stay. It's in a very convenient location, just a few minutes walk from the downtown centre so there were plenty of options for food. The only problem was the noise. It is extremely noisy outside and even with the windows closed, it was difficult to sleep. It's not the hostal's fault, but unfortunately I can't recommend this place because of the noise.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaz I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The price, location, cleaness, service and staff are amazing. In donwtown center, nearby many metro stations. Can walk by to major atractions like main square! And may bars and restaurants nearby. There are laundry services nearby and supermarkets to make easier for long time travelers.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emerson A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

+ location is so-so with good wine bars, but lots of b*tches around
+ clean

- extremely noisy street
- old window, not sound-proof, no sleep Friday-Saturday
- extremely small room
- extremely short bed (I'm 160cm, but my feet were off the bed)
- wifi never worked

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cs S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I have recently spent 5 nights at this hostal and there isn't one single negative comment that I could say about my experience here. The location is amazing. The staff were much obliging and really friendly. The rooms were clean and had everything that you would need for a stay in Madrid. The communal bathrooms were also spotlessly clean. There was free Wifi which was really efficient and for the summer months the rooms would also have air conditioning. What else does a person need?

Overall, this hotel was fantastic value for money and I would definitely, without a doubt, stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jambr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I've spent 3 nights in this averagely priced hostel. It offers a trully excellent location (only a few minutes of walking from Gran Via (main street) and Metro, maybe 7-8 minutes of walking to Sol - the very city center). Even though it's in the center, it's in a narrow street free from traffic, so it's not too noisy.

There were some recostruction works in the building during my stay, but it didn't affect the hostel (or me :)). There's a nice little cafe just accross the street, with a great atmosphere. Also, there are two small grocery stores/markets within a 100 meter radius that'll get you settled if you need some everyday stuff. Just ask the nice people at the reception to give you directions and a free map.

A bit of a warning here - although both the man and the woman are really, really kind and cool, they don't speek much english (okay, the woman speaks some, but the guy is spanish-only). Get a phrasebook and you should be fine :)

I've stayed in a twin room with ensuite bathroom. The room was great - comfortable bed, clean sheets and towels, wardrobe, nightstand, lamp, a small but working LCD TV with ~30 programmes (most of them are spanish) and an A/C. I guess you can hear some noise from the room nextdoor, but it didn't bother me. The wifi in the room was just awful! It depends a bit from the strenght of your device, but generally it was unusable. I did hang around at the reception each night (there's a big common space with some sofas and couches), where the WiFi signal was excellent.

The bathroom was clean, but really, really small. The bathtub just fits an average-height person, and there generally isn't much of space for manouvering your way around the bathroom. There weren't much bathroom amenities - just a small bar of hotel soap (no shower gel!). I did bring my own stuff, so I didn't even ask them to provide more.

All in all, I'd recommend this hostel to those who can live through without the breakfast and bear with the non-english speaking staff (although I understand that this can be a dealbreaker for some people).

Room Tip: My room was No 22 :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Damjanche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012 via mobile

Go to Las Musas hostel you will have a better experience trust me!
Okay where do I start?
Service: poor/inconsistent
- if you get the grumpy old man, he doesn't speak english and shrugs his shoulders a lot, never smiles and avoids solutions to problem.
- when I asked about the wifi not working he just shrugged his shoulders
- when I wanted to use the kitchen he said it was private for employees what type of hostel doesn't have an open kitchen.
- when I asked to get my towels changed they kept on insisting they changed it yesterday. It was until I was firm that they decided to change for me. Who cares just change it.
- only one lady speaks English at least she smiles
- the middle age man in the wee hours of night is very nice

Environment
- construction around the area. Based on what I have read from tripadvisor the construction has been in progress for at least 2 yrs boy they are slow
- drilling and hammering noise between 830am and 530 pm. So no afternoon naps and you better wake up early.
- creepy elevator and dust everywhere outside the hostel
- hookers near the end of the street but probably similar to any where on gran via

Rooms
- clean
- cheap locks on the closet don't lock, really? You advertise that you have luggage lock up.
- weird key policy you have to leave your room key at the front desk before you leave the hostel every day.


Pros
- I got my own room and bathroom (not all rooms are singles you need to check)
- wifi
- cheap tiny bar of soap
- cheap tiny bottle of bubble bath
- clean towels and hand towel
- clean rooms and area
- price maybe But I payed 64 euros per night for the private room
Goooo somewhere else like Las Musas Hostel!!
Unless u don't care about what I had issues with then go ahead

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chenjinfeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
La Latina
Hostal Rofer
Hostal Rofer
#69 of 283 in Madrid
23 reviews
Centro
Hostal La Plata
Hostal La Plata
#85 of 283 in Madrid
260 reviews
Malasana
Flat5Madrid
Flat5Madrid
#35 of 283 in Madrid
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hostal El Pilar
Hostal El Pilar
#59 of 283 in Madrid
180 reviews
Centro
Hostal Alaska
Hostal Alaska
#151 of 283 in Madrid
148 reviews
Centro
Hostal Matheu
Hostal Matheu
#174 of 283 in Madrid
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Condestable? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Condestable

Address: Calle Puebla 15 Escalera 1 Planta 2 Puerta 1, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #193 of 283 B&Bs / Inns in Madrid
Price Range: $35 - $675 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Condestable 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Condestable located in the trendy Malasana neighborhood, near the Gran Via, becomes the ideal place to enjoy a pleasant stay in the heart of Madrid. It is conveniently situated to take a walk to the Royal Palace, Almudena Cathedral, Plaza Mayor or Prado Museum among others; and to shop around the shopping areas of Preciados or Fuencarral. It is an architecturally typical building in the center of the capital, with the recent renovation of its facade and elevator. Easily accessible by public transport, also you will find a parking with arranged price for guest just 3 minutes away. It has 22 bright rooms with private bathroom. In addition, outstanding services such as 24 hour reception, free WIFI throughout the hotel, air conditioning, heating, LCD TV, toiletries, iron and hairdryer on request, concierge, luggage, cots, offers everything you need to visit Madrid . It also has budget rooms with shared bathroom. It is a cozy and comfortable place, known for its attentive service, friendly and familiar, thanks to its leaders that will provide airport transfers, tourist information arrange tours, and daytrips if needed. Getting from the airport: • By Metro: Take Line 8 (pink) at the Barajas Airport to Nuevos Ministerios, then take line 10 (dark blue, towards Puerta del Sur) until Alonso Martinez, transfer to line 5 (light green, towards Casa De Campo) stop at Callao, exit to Palacio de la Prensa, the hotel is within 250 meters. • By bus: Option 1: Take the Airport Express line to Cibeles, the hotel is 15 minutes walk. Option 2: Take the Airport Express line to Atocha Renfe, take the metro line 1 (light blue direction Pinar de Chamartin) to station Gran Via, exit in Fuencarral Street, the hotel is within 250 meters walk. From the main train stations: • Atocha Train Station: Take metro line 1 (light blue, Northbound) to Gran Via, the hotel is within 250 meters. Chamartin: Take metro line 1 (light blue, south) to Gran Via, the hotel is within 250 meters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mirai, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostal Condestable reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Condestable Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing