We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Paella I know of” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Serete - CLOSED

El Serete
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Centro
Tarporley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best Paella I know of”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

The first time I visited this restaurant was by accident whilst on tour with the same band 10 years ago - it was run by a 'Momma and Pappa' team who prepare the very best Paella freshly every time. If you didn't know it was there, you wouldn't give it a second glance but it is so worth a visit.

Their motto is 'Slow Food Restaurant'

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    29
    7
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milano
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

We were in a group of people and went to this restaurant according to the friend's advice. We ordered a paella and sangria. Both service and food were very good. Would recommend this place to other visitors as well. The only problem: after this lunch we were thirstly all day long: probably the paella was too saulty.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MilanoDaDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Divine Paella”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We had a Paella Valenciana at this restaurant; the Paella was just divine. The restaurant itself is pleasent, and we liked the very kind staff.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Luis Filipe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great paella”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

In Madrid with my wife and my hotel recommended this place. I was a bit weary since most hotels get kickbacks for sending tourists. However this place was amazing and reasonably priced. We shared the lobster and shrimp paella and it was huge and amazing. Very cute place that seemed like mostly locals went to. They may not have spoken English perfect but the food and their effort more than made up for it

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott33Ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A rip off!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

Paella prices expensive. All meals per person, but dishes prepared for two, meaning average cost of dish 40 euros plus. Requested sangria, and told only 'grande' as wine list whisked away and so received a shock when 1.5 liters came for two people and cost of 18euros! Not possible to drink!

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dean138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Serete also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing