We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAZING!!”
Review of Flat5Madrid

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Flat5Madrid
Ranked #26 of 276 Madrid B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“AMAZING!!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

This place was a right little gem, especially for €52 a night (we were there for 5 nights)! The location is absolutely amazing and the rooms were spotless. Yes they are small, but we only used them to sleep, get ready in & of course a little afternoon siesta! I would recommend paying a little extra & getting your own bathroom, which is what we did. There was air con, which was heavenly, as we went in September when the temperature was in the 30s (degrees C) and the room was cleaned every day.

Upon our arrival, the girl on reception was extremely friendly, she gave us a map, offered recommendations of where to go and grab drinks & food and marked the main tourist attractions, not to mention the nearest Metro station (which is literally seconds away from the front door).

I'd recommend having an explore of the area around the hotel/hostel - the roads opposite lead to lovely little squares and quirky bars & shops which wouldn't look out of place in the trendiest parts of London. The city has a great vibe, everywhere we went there was some sort of live music and people selling handmade flowers and crafts.

Included in our stay was a free walking tour, which met at the Puerta Del Sol below the statue of Carlos III, which I HIGHLY recommend you do, it was a great was to see this incredible city by day, as well as learning a little bit about it's rich culture & heritage. Our tour guide was a lovely Aussie girl who lived in Madrid & could speak English, Spanish & Italian fluently!

If you are on a budget, but want somewhere with an amazing location, spotless rooms and great links to the public transport, this place is definitely for you, you won't be disappointed. I would 110% definitely stay here again. And hopefully I will be soon!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gibs1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    148
    36
    4
    5
See reviews for
32
193
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed here for a few days in March over the Easter holidays. The staff were really helpful when we first arrived and gave us a free map of the city and pointed out all the tourist attractions. The room we had was a little on the small side, but we were really on there to sleep and use the free wi-fi. We opted for the shared bathroom, but there were three bathrooms for half of the rooms, and were always clean and we never had to wait to use the bathroom. A great place to stay and and if i came back to Madrid would defiantly stay here again. The Location was great, metro stop just a few meters away, but everything was in walking distance anyway.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roshni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
539 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I really loved everything about this place! Rooms and Bathrooms are very clean, close to everything, The metro is 10 seconds walk away, the staff are very helpful, and a value of money big time! If i come back to Madrid, I am coming back to this place for sure.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristianeNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Very nice hostel, 15 minutes on foot from Gran Via. It's clean, not expensive and has very good rooms (with heating and AC) and service. If you want to have good time in Madrid - Flat5 is your first choice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta malta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 8, 2012

My husband and i stayed at this hotel in November 2012 and we booked a double room with a cot since we were travelling with our 1 yr old daughter. As we arrived the receptionist check us in and then explained about keys bfast gave us a street map and explained very usefull information about the city. Wireless internet was very good connection was excellent. Well the drawback to this hotel is the room we were allocated in was too small for the three of us. Then the bathroom was something else, its so small that trying to wash my daughter was an everyday challenge since we could not move around since its SUPER small. The rooms are creativley decorated and place is very clean i must add that, but some works needs to be to done in the rooms (shelves not screwed in, wall clock not working. Another thing the Pillows are too soft.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Loved this place. First of all, the lady working when we checked in looked and sounded just like Selma Hayek and she was incredibly nice. We checked into a private room with shared bath and our room's a/c didn't work, so they immediately moved us to another room. A/C in Madrid in July is a must! The place was a bit hard to find and there's no signs on street level to tell you where you are (look five stories up!). The elevator up is a bit ghetto, but once you arrive the place is nice and smells very aromatic. Bathrooms were basic but clean and the room we wherein was spacious enough with a baby in a port-a-cot.

It's close to some attractions and for the others, there's a Metro station right outside! My only negative comment is that we had a street view room and were there when Spain won the Euro 2012, which meant constant partying, shouting and honking all night. Other than that, a good experience.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MrStubbs7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for 2 nights in June and really enjoyed our time in Madrid. Temperatures reached a crazy 38 degrees though so if you're going in the summer be prepared to sizzle, or as the Spanish guy on our train from Barcelona said,' You will die'. I think he meant of the heat!
The room was clean and really quirky. It was bright pink so if you think bright colours or crazy patterns will make you dizzy don't stay here!
The hotel/hostel is on the 5th floor of an old Madrid building in a seriously hipster part of town. There is a lift, but it looks pretty rickety and is very tiny so I reccommend walking. The girl at the desk was super nice and did everything to help us.
The fifth floor is divided by two doors which must have previously been two apartments. Luckily, we got the one that isn't connected to the reception, meaning there were little awkward hellos on the way to the bathroom.
Another great thing about this place is the little common room with a vending machine and plenty of brochures and coffee etc. The water etc was a bargain in the hotel at 1EUR,as water in the city is pretty expensive when you need so much of it. The cleaner was also lovely and even lent me an iron and ironing board.

OK, now for the bad news. Do not opt for the shared bathroom. I couldnt bring myself to shower for 2 days. The staff have obviously tried to spruce it up as much as possible but there was some serious mould and stains on the floor. Although they were clean, they just really need rooted out altogether. It's also seriously irritating when you have to get fully clothed to go use the toilet in the middle of the night or early morning.

on another note, great location, 5 minutes from Gran Via.
I would reccomend this is you were looking for somewhere seriously cheap as it is great for the price. It only cost me like £30 a night.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seersh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Malasana
Hostal Abel Victoriano
Hostal Abel Victoriano
#17 of 276 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Malasana
Hospedaje Romero
Hospedaje Romero
#18 of 276 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Centro
Madrid City Rooms
Madrid City Rooms
#3 of 276 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Artistic B&B
Artistic B&B
#1 of 276 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Centro
Hostal Go Inn Madrid
Hostal Go Inn Madrid
#4 of 276 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Centro
Hostal Madrid
Hostal Madrid
#19 of 276 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flat5Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flat5Madrid

Property: Flat5Madrid
Address: Calle San Bernardo 55 5th Left, 28015 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 276 B&Bs / Inns in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Flat5Madrid 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El colorista y moderno FLAT5Madrid, en pleno centro de Madrid, desprende un aire fresco y urbano. Habitaciones disenadas con mimo y al detalle, todas con servicio Wi-Fi, TV pantalla plana, DVD (*) y Aire Acondicionado (*). Todos nuestros clientes tienen incluido en su reserva en Flat5Madrid una visita guiada matinal gratuita por Madrid....! El desayuno te lo llevamos a la cama!! NOVEDAD!!!SERVICIO DE RECOGIDA (SHUTTLE) desde el aeropuerto al hostal y Viceversa por solo 30€ de 1 a 4 personas. Son los pequenos detalles los que diferencian a FLAT5Madrid. (*) Excepto las habitaciones economicas con bano compartido. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Flat5Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flat5madrid Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing