We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really recommended!!!!”

La Terraza del Casino de Madrid
Reserve with
La Terraza del Casino de Madrid is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #427 of 10,520 Restaurants in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $69 - $300
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Spanish, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Centro
Description: For balmy Madrid evenings, the Casino offers an exceptional atmosphere surrounded by the most historical buildings on Calle Alcala.Since 1988, the rooftop restaurant, La Terraza del Casino, two Michelin Stars and three Repsol Suns, directed by Paco Roncero and advised by Ferran Adria, now rates among the most innovate players on Madrid gastronomic stage. Fine dining is one of the most surprising locations the Casino de Madrid has to offer.Discover Madrid skyline from amidst the historic buildings that surround the Casino: they provide the backdrop for your meal. Haute cuisine for clients in search of originality, creativity and the chance to enjoy a new culinary experience.Furthermore, in the refurbishment, Jaime Hayon has created a design conceived specifically to envelop dinners in the same groundbreaking, avant-garde feel that Paco Roncero achieves with the textures, colours and flavours of his dishes.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Really recommended!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

This was an exceptional dining experience.

We had the degustation menu. We loved the creativity and inventiveness of each course. It was one sensational taste experience after another.

Friends in New Zealand recommended coming to this two star Michelin restaurant in Madrid. We are so glad we went here. Every course at La Terraza has the Wow! factor, and is totally delicious.

The chef, Paco Roncero, came round the tables and spoke with us at one point, which we greatly appreciated.

The service was excellent too – the staff are attentive and knowledgeable, but not at all obtrusive. The whole evening was perfect.

This restaurant thoroughly deserves its two stars (indeed worthy of more) – it is everything a top Michelin star restaurant should be.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Sandy2027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    92
    38
    18
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
396 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Great food, but smoking allowed!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

This restaurant deserves its two Michelin stars. The food is expertly prepared and very creative. The wine list is very extensive, with deep verticals of great Spanish wines, as well as reasonable prices for very good Spanish wines. But, because the service is outdoors, on a terrace (at least in good weather) patrons are allowed to smoke, and smoke they do. When we became aware of this problem we complained to kurt server, and then to the maitre 'd. They blew its off, noting that we were in the minority. Tables were empty and set inside, but they refused to seat us there, perhaps because no one else was dining inside. Despite the outstanding food and wine, I cannot recommend this restaurant to a non-smoker, so long as seating is on the terrace.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not ElBulli or ferran Adria but an excellent meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Spectacular setting with a lobby reminiscent of a Newport mansion. Restaurant in elegant setting on upper floor of the casino de Madrid (a private club). Jacket required. A disciple of ferran Adria is head chief. Innovative 20+ mini-course tasting menu that began with a deconstructed "Bloody Mary" and had 8 starter courses then 8 tapiplatos! (And several sweet desert courses to finish) My favorite starter was surprisingly a "peanut" with a dab of spicy sauce, loved the fried quail egg too. A red mullet was great as a tapiplato as was a cabonara egg nest and a castanuelas plate. Wine list is 50 pages! We did a fino panesa sherry with early courses then a 2006 dominio de valdepusa followed by niepoort tawny port with the deserts (going local on the wines). Service excellent. I think several courses were great but several just ok as well. Club Allard in Madrid was better and this isn't 11 Madison park (NYC) by any stretch

Helpful?
1 Thank Reovirus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
99 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Amazing food and splendid service and surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

One of the best lunch experiences I have ever had. The tasting meny was absolutely great, and the variety of the dishes was great. We went there for lunch and had the tasting menu, and I was very impressed with every dish.

We stayed for three hours, and had both food, wine and coffee for about €100 per person. Definitely not cheap, but you won't often find an eating experience of this high standard for this price.
Remember the dress code (blazer required).

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kasper-Copenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Innovative and special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

I will only talk about the food, which we will always remember, for its inventivity full of surprises. Bravo to the chef who really thought through his menu, to have us enjoy very special dishes, prepared in an innovative way. Service was also perfect, never too present, but always quick whenever we asked for something.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Terraza del Casino de Madrid also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to La Terraza del Casino de Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing