We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a surprise”
Review of Bahia Taberna

Bahia Taberna
Ranked #27 of 10,696 Restaurants in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $39 - $61
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Este proyecto nace en respuesta a un progresivo desarrollo de la alta cocina. Se ha renovado el ambiente tradicional de una taberna conjugando los conceptos de las ultimas tendencias artisticas y gastronomicas. Asi se pueden degustar modernos pinchos y platos creativos, en un entorno tradicional y de cocina de mercado.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What a surprise”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

After seeing the high ranking of the TripAdvisor, we though of booking a table in between flights. We though it would be a sophisticated tavern judging from the name and looking at the dishes' photos. Ofcourse looking at the location which is off the beaten track away from everything that would be slightly touristic, we though, hmmm...... is this really the place? Given the fact though that its location is a 7-8 minutes taxi ride from the airport we though that it was a no brainer.

We took the Metro to the closest stop (Alameda de Osuna) from the line 5 we were on. Then we needed a 15 minute walk to reach the Bahia taberna. Arriving at 20:30 (8:30 pm) we were the first customers (Spanish usually go out to eat after 21:00. We explained that we needed to leave around 22:00 to catch our plane. We expected to be seated in one of the bar-like high tables made of euro-pallets (nice idea and nice ambiance), we finally were seated in one of the few low tables close to the kitchen. Here is were we realized that there was a small variation of the menu and the pricing when seated at the bar-like tables comparing to seating at a normal table. At that point I thought that we would be paying a lot more than expected. Our initial expectation from a taverna was around €20 per person. We thought though giving it a try.

We explained that we would prefer having fish and we asked them to feel free and build up the menu for us. We found all the dishes FANTASTIC! What a great combination of great ingredients presented in a Michelin star way. One dish was tastier than the other. The speed of serving was also remarkable having the chef and the waiter worrying more than we did about getting a taxi to the airport and avoiding missing our flight. What a service!

We finally ended up paying less than €90 for two persons with a glass of wine and two bottles of water. I truly hope that the prices will be kept in a logical levels and as I said to the chef, please do not get a michelin star even though you worth it.

So in a nutshell the service is excellent, the food is sublime and it worth while going away from the center to taste the creations of its chef. What an experience!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlexandrosGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BahiaTaberna, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Taberna, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you so much AlexandrosGR, w ehope to see you again and may be we could design another tasted menu. Who knows? :) Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    598
    159
    40
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful food, great service, affordable prices. A touch of magic and innovation in the kitchen. If I could change one thing - the chairs at the high tables could be a little more comfortable!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NCH1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BahiaTaberna, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Taberna, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hello NCH1968, thanks for your review, in other hand we want to inform you that we are looking for new chairs. Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Shhh don't tell anyone about this place!!!”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

This is not your normal neighborhood restaraunt. Now that you've been warned make sure you visit!

At first when you walk in, as an American, you find yourself here in a little different setting. Its very local in here and dinner is served typically later than usual for us Yankees. I think we had the first reservation and that wasn't until 730 or 8:30 I can't remember exactly. None of which matters at all because the next 2-3 hours were all fantastic!

The place wasn't actually open yet for dinner service when we arrived but the bar was alive with patrons so we helped ourselves to it and had some wine. Both gentlemen working were less than fluent in English but made up for that with their cheery dispositions. At the end of the night it becomes clear to the visitor why they seemed so glad to be at work on a Wed night.

After a few glasses we warmed up and so did the place. There are some fun things on the wall in the bar area which led me to believe this was some sort of Italian styled Spanish place so the bar-man explained as best he could that it was and more, much more, with a little Asian influence as well.

Listen, I've already said too much. The bottom line is if you are reading this you can stop now. Just go. Get the chef's tasting menu and take your time and enjoy. The more you enjoy the more this place especially the chef and his creations will enjoy you. And that is why the staff was so happy. Because they know you will happier leaving than whence you came.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ardmoreari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BahiaTaberna, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Taberna, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you so much Ardmoreari, it´s amazing read your post, your opinion is so important for us. We hope to see you again. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
39 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very Good!”
Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Very good food and service. I'd definitely recommend it. We had the menu degustation and cannot complain about anything. We'll be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Surya1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BahiaTaberna, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Taberna, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment Surya 1975, we hope to see you again as soon as possible. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madrid
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great find, great food, lovely service”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Absolutely exceptional food. The staff were great, I would recommend this little place to everyone. We had a tasting menu and each course was fresh, unique and built on the previous. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. Go there!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank madridaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BahiaTaberna, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Taberna, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hello madridaj, thank you so much for your review. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bahia Taberna also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Bahia Taberna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing