We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem!”
Review of Bahia Taberna

Bahia Taberna
Ranked #28 of 11,010 Restaurants in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $65
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Este proyecto nace en respuesta a un progresivo desarrollo de la alta cocina. Se ha renovado el ambiente tradicional de una taberna conjugando los conceptos de las ultimas tendencias artisticas y gastronomicas. Asi se pueden degustar modernos pinchos y platos creativos, en un entorno tradicional y de cocina de mercado.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful food, great service, affordable prices. A touch of magic and innovation in the kitchen. If I could change one thing - the chairs at the high tables could be a little more comfortable!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NCH1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BahiaTaberna, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Taberna, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hello NCH1968, thanks for your review, in other hand we want to inform you that we are looking for new chairs. Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    629
    166
    42
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Shhh don't tell anyone about this place!!!”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

This is not your normal neighborhood restaraunt. Now that you've been warned make sure you visit!

At first when you walk in, as an American, you find yourself here in a little different setting. Its very local in here and dinner is served typically later than usual for us Yankees. I think we had the first reservation and that wasn't until 730 or 8:30 I can't remember exactly. None of which matters at all because the next 2-3 hours were all fantastic!

The place wasn't actually open yet for dinner service when we arrived but the bar was alive with patrons so we helped ourselves to it and had some wine. Both gentlemen working were less than fluent in English but made up for that with their cheery dispositions. At the end of the night it becomes clear to the visitor why they seemed so glad to be at work on a Wed night.

After a few glasses we warmed up and so did the place. There are some fun things on the wall in the bar area which led me to believe this was some sort of Italian styled Spanish place so the bar-man explained as best he could that it was and more, much more, with a little Asian influence as well.

Listen, I've already said too much. The bottom line is if you are reading this you can stop now. Just go. Get the chef's tasting menu and take your time and enjoy. The more you enjoy the more this place especially the chef and his creations will enjoy you. And that is why the staff was so happy. Because they know you will happier leaving than whence you came.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ardmoreari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BahiaTaberna, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Taberna, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you so much Ardmoreari, it´s amazing read your post, your opinion is so important for us. We hope to see you again. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very Good!”
Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Very good food and service. I'd definitely recommend it. We had the menu degustation and cannot complain about anything. We'll be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Surya1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BahiaTaberna, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Taberna, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment Surya 1975, we hope to see you again as soon as possible. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madrid
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great find, great food, lovely service”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Absolutely exceptional food. The staff were great, I would recommend this little place to everyone. We had a tasting menu and each course was fresh, unique and built on the previous. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. Go there!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank madridaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BahiaTaberna, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Taberna, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hello madridaj, thank you so much for your review. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I agree with the other reviewers that this is an amazing place to eat. From the outside it appears to be just another corner restaurant and from the limited menu choices you might think you made a mistake in coming here. WRONG. The food is presented in a manner consistent with multi-star establishments and the quality is excellent. I had their daily special which was a choice of 3 tapas, an appetizer, bread, desert and drink for 15 euros. The waitress was very helpful in explaining the menu choices and seemed proud to explain the ingredients of each dish she served. I wish I could have eaten there again but was only in town for 1 evening. Please note the location listed for Bahia is wrong. See YaYa1942's post for correct address.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BahiaTaberna, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Taberna, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thanks professor_plum, we would like to inform you that we heve been change the adress info on the site. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bahia Taberna also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Bahia Taberna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing