We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food”
Review of Bahia Taberna

Bahia Taberna
Ranked #27 of 10,696 Restaurants in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $39 - $61
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Este proyecto nace en respuesta a un progresivo desarrollo de la alta cocina. Se ha renovado el ambiente tradicional de una taberna conjugando los conceptos de las ultimas tendencias artisticas y gastronomicas. Asi se pueden degustar modernos pinchos y platos creativos, en un entorno tradicional y de cocina de mercado.
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
79 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I agree with the other reviewers that this is an amazing place to eat. From the outside it appears to be just another corner restaurant and from the limited menu choices you might think you made a mistake in coming here. WRONG. The food is presented in a manner consistent with multi-star establishments and the quality is excellent. I had their daily special which was a choice of 3 tapas, an appetizer, bread, desert and drink for 15 euros. The waitress was very helpful in explaining the menu choices and seemed proud to explain the ingredients of each dish she served. I wish I could have eaten there again but was only in town for 1 evening. Please note the location listed for Bahia is wrong. See YaYa1942's post for correct address.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BahiaTaberna, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Taberna, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thanks professor_plum, we would like to inform you that we heve been change the adress info on the site. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    598
    159
    40
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
maryland, usa
Level Contributor
118 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Such attention to detail is provided in the service and preparation of the food. As in the other reviewers accounts, we also had the 'tasting menu', and it is exquisite and very filling. Every course is an artistic experience, from the apt choice of the 'china', to the presentation of color palate in the food, and finally the clever mix of flavors in every served portion. We also finished up with the dessert (and coffee), deciding that the cheesecake was the best choice even tho' the chocolate menage tickled our fancy. It is an intimate restaurant and appears to also be a neighborhood hang-out, with those customers ordering a simpler meal, and most probably less pricey. Our cost came to about 45 Euros each.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelbounder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BahiaTaberna, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Taberna, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you travelbounder, is amazing read your post. We would like to welcome you back to surprise you even more. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wrong location”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

La Taverna Bahia is located on Calle Bahia de Palma, not on Calle de Santender--not far, but if you're walking along Calle de Santender looking for the restaurant, you won't find it.

When you get to La Bahia, however, prepare for a first class dining experience. Creative variations on Spanish classics are elegantly presented. We had some fine meals of essential Spanish fare throughout southern Spain, but for first-class cuisine that remains within the Spanish tradition, nothing previous came close to La Bahia. If you're anywhere near Barajas airport in Madrid for a meal don't miss La Bahia.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank YaYa1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BahiaTaberna, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Taberna, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your post YaYa1942, the location has been changed. Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not formal, but delicious”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

My wife and I went to La Bahia because we were staying near the airport on our last night in Spain and read great reviews on Trip Advisor. We were expecting more of a formal dining experience, so when we arrived to see a small cafe with both indoor sidewalk seating we weren't sure we were in the right place. However, we sat outside and ordered the 6 course tasting menu and a nice bottle of wine. The other reviews you read are accurate, the food is very creative, delicious, and well presented. The kitchen really knows what they're doing here. The staff was very courteous and we'd definitely go back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BahiaTaberna, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Taberna, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
thanks for your review Kevin C, we hope to see you soon. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California, USA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“"Trust me!"”
Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

Completely unexpected find in a residential neighborhood near the airport! We had one of the co-owners serve as she asked if we knew what we wanted. Since we were first timers we didn't so she said "Do you trust me?" She and chef put together an incredible 6 course tasting menu. Items ranged from a Gazpacho-style soup, caviar with truffle oil endive, "calamari pizza" to a great steak tartare. Great find!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ccoulson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BahiaTaberna, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Bahia Taberna, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Hello ccoulson, it´s amazing read reviews like yours about us. Thank you so much, best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bahia Taberna also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Bahia Taberna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing