We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great menu del dia”
Review of Public

Public
Ranked #1,378 of 14,000 Restaurants in Madrid
Price range: $22 - $33
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Universidad
Reviewed July 30, 2019 via mobile

Great lunch today - chose menu del dia and it did not disappoint. The choices for first, second and dessert were good in terms of variety and the quality of the food was excellent. We found the service to be exemplary with all staff being very attentive. Thank you very much for looking after us.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank JPDork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoAndilana, Guest Relations Manager at Public, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2019

Hi Marinan471
Thank you for your comments. We are very pleased to know that your experience with us was to your liking. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Madrid.
regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,084)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 1,085 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2019

The only waitress who came was the one who came with a bread basket. When i said to her i would like to order the food she said it’s not her responsibility and went away. Nobody came to take order so i left.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank Juan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoAndilana, Guest Relations Manager at Public, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2019

Hello Juan D

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry to hear your experience with us was not up to par. We are working hard on our staff's training.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2019 via mobile

The best lunch & money spent in Madrid! The lunch special is $11.65 euros per person; it includes 2 entrees, a dessert, & your beverage of choice: water, soda, 1/4 wine, or 1 alcoholic beverage. My husband and I ate there for two days.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank jasminea717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoAndilana, Guest Relations Manager at Public, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2019

Hi jasimnea717

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased to know your experience with us was to your liking. We work hard on our price/quality ratio. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Madrid!
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2019

Good value - exceeded our expectations.
Servings were larger than expected, yet well flavored.
Good service. Spacious. Relaxed atmosphere.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank i-witness30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoAndilana, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Public, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2019

Dear I-witness30

We are glad to hear you had such a good experience in our restaurant. These kind of comments give us strength to keep doing things well.
We hope to see you again on your next visit to Madrid.

Kind regards,
Grupo Andilana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2019

We went on aSunday evening and it was quite busy. We were told that wasn’t usually the case but it might have been because it was Pride weekend. The service was very good and the staff were very helpful as we don’t speak Spanish.
Food is so delicious. Don’t be fooled by the linen tablecloths and reasonable prices as the portions are quite good. Much larger than we expected for tapas prices.
I would not hesitate to recommend this place

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sandrak232017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoAndilana, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Public, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2019

Hello sandrak23017

Thank you so much, your opinion has highlighted the pillars on which we base our business. We are very glad to hear you had such a good a experience with us.
We hope to see you again in your next visit in Madrid

Kind regards,

Grupo Andilana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Public also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Public? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing