We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always reliable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Public

Public
Ranked #717 of 10,438 Restaurants in Madrid
Price range: $22 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Malasana
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Always reliable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

I have been visiting this place a couple of times a year (or more) in the summer for 3 years and when I arrive am always made to feel like I am a welcome regular. It is definitely my favourite of the "group" (see their website). The location can be a bit "off putting" on a street that has more than its share of "working girls" but the decor is definitely upscale and belies a very affordable restaurant with a rather eclectic menu that can be counted on to satisfy. While not exclusively "Spanish" you will find some dishes that are more "traditional" as well - maybe not "haute cuisine" but look at the prices. They have a wide selection of wines that are also very affordable. Service is very discreet and not imposing but responsive to the diners needs and to any gestures of friendliness. Centrally-located and generally (except weekends) devoid of the line-ups one encounters at their sister restaurants.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Garnet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    298
    135
    51
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good and cheap !!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

Very nice atmosphere, good food ( whereas not authentic mediterranean food because owned by Asiatic) and overall CHEAP !!

Helpful?
Thank marjosc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Greay little find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012 via mobile

We were given this recommendation from a Spanish friend and pre-warned about the street it was in so were not shocked. The street is just behind the Grand Via an seems to attract a few prostitutes so don't be shocked! It is still a busy street though and seemed perfectly safe. The restaurant itself looks like it should be more expensive than it is from the decor but is really great value and the best meal we had in Madrid. The menu is vast, many Spanish type dishes but not perhaps tourist Spanish which is good. As with everywhere in Madrid, the service is never with a smile but was good and they had an English menu. I had cod fritters to start which were lovely and Veal cheeks for main which were tender and came with a fabulous sauce. My partner had egg and chips (Spanish style!) for starters which was a big portion but very good and pork for main, again with chips! All in all a great meal, and great value. A must visit.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HelenMarie1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Vibrant City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

Friendly & helpful people with plenty of street entertainment.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank moorcres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Smart and Tasty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

Whilst we were staying at the Hotel Tryp Cibeles, on the Calle Gran Via, we thought that we would look for a local restaurant. There was plenty of choice, but just around the corner from our hotel we found the “Public” restaurant. The restaurant was located in Calle del Desengaño, a back street which runs parallel to Calle Gran Via. The area was not the smartest in town, but this was offset by the clean and well presented restaurant, which had been decorated with good taste.

We arrived at approximately 21:00, so there were still a few tables free. The staff were very efficient and the menu was typical of a Spanish restaurant. We ordered our meals and they were served within a reasonable time. They were well presented and tasty, representing excellent value for money along with the bottle of Rioja tinto.

As the Spanish are late eaters, the restaurant quickly filled up as the evening progressed; proof of its popularity.

We visited the restaurant twice during the 4 nights that we were in Madrid, the other nights were spent at local tapas bars.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnfromWilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Public also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Public? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing