We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Club like atmosphere in Madrid” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Lando

El Lando
Ranked #349 of 10,438 Restaurants in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $37 - $147
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Club like atmosphere in Madrid”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Landó never fails and it's always energetic with the highest quality food. If you're looking for innovation do not go. It's all about materia prima. Best sliced tomato, and pan con tomate. Torrezno and Morcilla are awesome.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JCGSibarita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    71
    15
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

So glad that I read about this local restaurant because it was an incredible meal and experience. Definitely authentic Madrid.

We were seated early and started with the bread and tomatoes which were simple and delicious. Let the waiter suggest the wine. Highly recommend the fried egg and French fry appetizer, asparagus and the steak.

If you are lucky enough to find this gem, GET THERE!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KAP526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
108 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Great food and sat next to a princess”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

My Spanish colleague who recommended this restaurant also told me that it's a favourite with their royal family, and lo and behold we were sat next to Princess Elena, with accompanying paparazzi waiting outside when we left!!

A very gentlemen's club like set up downstairs in a nice dining room. They leave plates of tomatoes and tomato bread on each table which i found a bit weird, but no one else seemed to.

The ham and melon starter was as simple as could be, but the ingredients were outstanding and it was heavenly. Followed by a really cracking entrecote for me and my wife had a gorgeous Tortilla Espana. It was a very nice way to spend a Monday lunchtime. Accompanied by a cracking bottle of vino I would definitely recommend this place. Slightly off the tourist trail but not by much and worth tracking down I would say.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clauotero
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stayed one night in Madrid just to eat here!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

May I say this is the most amazing restaurant I have ever had the pleasure to eat in. On the outside it is not fancy at all, and the restaurant is literally in a basement, the decor is very typical of Madrid wood ceilings and pictures of the owner with all the celebrities that have dined here. Very minimum decor.
The service is superb!! The owner himself "Angelito" goes from table to table asking you if everything is fine.
We ordered Huevos estrellados as an appetizer and the Solomillo as an entree. It was the best steak I had ever had!!! The Jamon Serrano is exquisite and the bread with tomatoes amazing. At the end we were too full for dessert so Angelito decided we shouldn't leave without trying the variety pastelitos and sent us a platter free of charge! May I say I am so glad he did because they were so delicious.
I liked that it is not packed with tourist, on the contrary, this is were the madrileños dine. This has got to be the best restaurant I have ever stepped foot into! Will go here every time I visit Madrid.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank clauotero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
179 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Always delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

We eat here every trip and it is reliable and yummy. Plates of Iberico, pan con tomate, boquerones, etc., etc. You can't go wrong if you love flavorful food.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nannysuef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Lando also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to El Lando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing