We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant ambience, unpleasant food”
Review of Bazaar

Bazaar
Ranked #1,073 of 10,696 Restaurants in Madrid
Price range: $22 - $34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Chueca
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pleasant ambience, unpleasant food”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Had lunch here this afternoon. Restaurant is very pleasant, open and airy with white woodwork and shelves. It was crowded, and appeared to be with locals, which is usually a good sign. Opted for the menu del dia; my husband and I had gazpacho, which was tasty, and a fish in salsa verde, which was not. Fish was not fresh, and was overcooked. The salsa verde had an "off" taste as well. It was served with couscous, which seemed like an odd choice. Desserts were fine. Service was odd and abrupt; they brought the check as soon as they cleared dessert plates, without our asking for it, which seemed contrary to custom here in Spain and quite rude. I would not go here again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank frequentflyer49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    541
    266
    120
    106
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“wide range of innovative and lovely dishes at great prices”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

It is in the Chueca distrit, very young staff, fast service, delicious contemporary cuisine with fantastic and original ingredients combination, loved it!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Maria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroubra, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Interesting Asian Spanish Fusion”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Generally very interesting and nice food, some quite clever, but their chicken curry was tasteless - yes, I'm accustomed to Sydney Thai style with rich creamy and hot curries, but this was a big disappointment by anyone's standards.
The staff had very good English and the service was excellent, atmosphere nice, we were there for dinner around 8-9pm.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cazaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bazaar Restarante Madrid”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We found this a pleasant eating house both the food and service were good and the price reasonable. A trendy open restaurant. Easy walking distance to the Ada Palace Hotel.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zaneen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
138 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good value modern restaurant”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We had lunch at this restaurant today after the recommendation of a local shopkeeper. It has a very good value three course lunch with wine. All for E10.00. The food is modern world food. The restaurant is operated by Philippinos who move things along fairly quickly. As soon as a table emptied it was filled again. Well worth a visit. The a la carte menu also was good and seemed good valua.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AusTravellers7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bazaar also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Bazaar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing