We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excelent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Barraca

La Barraca
Ranked #470 of 10,438 Restaurants in Madrid
Price range: $22 - $43
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Chueca
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excelent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Do you want the spanish food!? Sea food!? Oh look at Paella (of house) or Valenciana. I prefer the first one! Make a reservation first! Excelent food, good service, good place. It exists. See the google maps!

Helpful?
Thank Douglas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    799
    813
    349
    153
    145
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“WELL DONE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

I came here twice during my recent stay in Madrid. Each time, they prepared a paella for one, even though their menu stipulates a two person minimum. The place is clean and attractive, and the service is attentive, professional and good natured, without being intrusive.

The food is EXCELLENT! I had the Paella Valenciana (paella with chicken and rabbit) the first time, and seafood paella the second time. Each was flavorful and attractively presented. I loved them both.

There is NOTHING that you would not like about this place. This place is not cheap, but not unreasonable for what you get. I would come back TOMORROW if I could.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Skolenator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Above Average Pealla, Good Ambiance and Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

La Barraco was listed in a "10 best seafood restaurants" in Madrid. It not that good. It specializes in Paella, and does a commendable job on them, but not superlative. Well flavored but relatively mild in seasoning and a bit short on the seafood and long on the rice. For 18 Euro per person (2 Person minimum) they could have been more generous on the dinners heart. Portion was quite good. The gazpacho was good. Traditional Madrid gazpacho with a soup base with chopped vegetables added at the table. Be sure to ask for "a bit more" of the ones you like, or there would not have been enough solids to suit my tastes. Wait staff pleasant and efficient. The restaurant has a number of smaller, well decorated rooms rather than one cavernous floor, so it feels more personal than it actually is. Good place to hold conversation as it was relatively quite. Meal for two, with wine, cost about $100.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob5021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“All in all a good experience at a reasonable price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

In my third time in Madrid i thought it was time i tried one of the must do things... Eating paella! I searched Tripadvisor and had 2 places on my list, both in the same street. I went on a sunday at around 22h and since one was empty i went to the oher one.. La Barraca and it was good!

The service is excellent, the place is big and with many rooms (some are good for more private moments if you prefer) and the food didn't disapointed. Not sure if it's the best paella of Madrid (they say they were the ones that made madrid paella famous around the world), but i enjoyed the time spent there.

Also the price wasn't that bad for the type of place, food and service. I paid 67€ for starters, paella for 2, wine and dessert.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Moniconweekends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

The food here was excellent, the place is a little hard to find, almost looks like a hole in the wall place, but well worth every cent.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingKnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Barraca also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to La Barraca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing