We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Basque cuisine”
Review of Dantxari

Dantxari
Reserve with
Dantxari is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #120 of 10,780 Restaurants in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Arguelles
Gainesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Authentic Basque cuisine”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I went to Dantxari with a party of 25, I was so ready to enjoy a dinner off the conference hotel property out by the airport. They seated us upstairs at a long table. We were there over 3 hours, and time flew by. We were served at least seven courses, each one was more delicious than the previous. As my main course I had the monkfish. Awesome. And the desserts - I was little sad that I had to shall the large plate of desserts with my coworkers. The plate had 4 types of ice cream, and other bite-size treats.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    159
    47
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
gorinchem
Level Contributor
137 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“nice small restaurant”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

The large group I went with, was served very well with good food. The ham as a starter was great. The whole group was happy with the different main dishes. De deserts were great and huge...
One thing the should change. Don't serve beer in a small lemonade glass

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Worb-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andalusia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Excellent Basque cuisine with attentive and friendly service”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I'd like to describe this restaurant as "classical" but I fear that might put some people off. But it IS classical in the sense that all the boxes get ticked: well selected produce is prepared and presented with care, with attentive and helpful front-of-house staff ready to speed everything to your table.

Basque cuisine is based on fresh meats, fish and seasonal vegetables. Here too, the menu reflects that background. My wife and I have dined here four times and we still have yet to cover the full range on the menu.

The wine lists are detailed and wide-ranging, with some rather ordinary wines nestled in among the better ones. And being Basque there is some cider too.

One tip: if you would like to try the Dantxari's renowned rendering of apple tart, order it at the beginning of your meal: it takes a while to prepare... and is worth the wait.

Another tip: even in these economically depressed times it is best to book a table in advance. At weekends it is essential.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MikTheViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fine basque country food”
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Dantxari is a popular restaurant for people in Madrid who like good food from the Basque Country.

Reservations are recommended, almost obligatory for weekends.

Either fish or meat are good bets. If you want to try something special, choose the Txangurro, a traditional dish made of seafood.

Of course, a good wine or cider is a must to take the experience a bit further.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank enricopg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salvador, Bahia - Brasil
Level Contributor
126 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant”
Reviewed August 9, 2011

I visited Dantxari Restaurant by recomendation from a spanish friend, and I liked so much.
The meal is delicious, specially bacallao (codfish).
The price was not expensive.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jurisconsultor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dantxari also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Dantxari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing