We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hidden Galician treasure”

Taberna O Curruncho
Ranked #1,152 of 13,476 Restaurants in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
Neighborhood: Austrias
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Austrias
Reviewed July 11, 2017

tucked away in a side street between the Gran Via and the Royal Palace, this is a local restaurant for locals (who are very jolly and noisy), hugely popular and good value so booking essential as limited covers. Welcoming ambience but basic decor and accommodation
the owner, with little more English than our Spanish, was hilarious and somehow we ordered a spectacular seafood meal through pictures
the wine list was small but very good value and an Albarino really toothsome
highly commended; go and enjoy the atmosphere;
9 out of 10, nothing achieves a perfect 5

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dunstanrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 68 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2016

We had a fabulous meal for 4 at this restaurant. A small, cosy and busy place. We ordered a selection of dishes to share, including the incredibly tasty chickpeas with lobster (garbanzos con bogavante), Galician grelos (chard), cooked anchovies, etc. Everything was of great quality and perfectly timed, as our table was small, serving one shared dish after another like clockwork. For desserts we had Galician filloas ( forgive my spelling) delicious crepes filled with custards and flambé with 'orujo'. The owner/manager was very sweet and everything she recommended was perfect, plus she was polite and friendly. A must go restaurant in Madrid. Make sure you book in advance.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AntonioGP_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2015

Went there for lunch -- everything great. Around €90 for two with a nice bottle of wine. Recommended if you are in the area.

Date of visit: January 2015
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JohnWilkes1725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2019
Google Translation

Date of visit: October 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2019
Google Translation

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taberna O Curruncho also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Taberna O Curruncho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing